100 Day Challenge - #2 - Learning a new rudiment

in #music6 years ago

100day.jpg

As you may already know, yesterday I started 100 Day Challenge. My goal is to learn a new rudiment called six-stroke roll and get it up to 200 bpm (beats per minute). Yesterday, I started with 70bpm and increased it to 75bpm. Today, after warm-up, I played it again at 75bpm, then increased it to 80 bpm and played another 20 minutes at that speed.

Of couse, with slower tempos, it is easy to increase tempo rapidly, but when I get to really fast tempos (like 130 and faster), progress will be much slower and that's the reason I decided to do this challenge for 100 days.

Unfortunately, my camera is still out and will be for a while so I had to do this video with my phone. Apologies for that. (And also for the TV sounds in the background, had to keep myself entertained somehow while practicing :D )

Thanks for support!

Sort:  

Looking good! Personally I’d open up the height on your left hand early on and start trying to get a little more rebound now while you are working at low bpm. Even unaccented, at high bpm you will be glad for training your left to pull every possible bit of energy out. This is especially true for paradiddle-diddles, the dumbest and most awesomely named rudiment ever.

Yeah, I noticed that too while I edited the video. Will definitely try to improve that, it's better to solve it now than to fix it later. Thanks for the advice :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 57297.27
ETH 3101.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41