Comptine d'un autre été - Troilo

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Sweet memories


When I first discovered this tune, it was back in April 2001, in the movie "Le Fabuleux destin d'Amélie Poulain". I was 9 years old back in the days, when the film was released. As I remember, it was the first time I felt some kind of love and powerful desire for an actress. (Ok, Maybe my first crush was the little mermaid, but it doesn't count I guess?) I remember that there was a lot of implied sexual subliminal messages (even explicit). I was boiling from the inside. Can you imagine, at 9 years old? Erm, but that's another story.

At this age, I was also starting to really feel and enjoy nostalgic music. I was seeing this as magic. But children anyway see magic everywhere, because they are looking for it? But it was special.

I decided then, at 10 years old, to take some piano lessons, for about 2 years.

Unfortunately, I wasn't motivated enough. So at 12 years old, I quit, and forgot about it. I became a Revolted SkateBoarder listening to Sum 41, Good Charlotte, Blink 182, Avril Lavigne, Slipknot, Limp Bizkit, Bullet for my Valentine, Metallica, .... And for the contrast, also a lot of good old old-school Hip-Hop.

Some years later, I discovered again the Joy of sweet acoustic music. I then started to learn guitar by myself at 18 years old. And finally, at 21 years old, I told myself: "If I'm able to learn guitar by ear and visually by watching videos... Would I be able to do the same with piano?"

So I went on Youtube, typed "Comptine d'un autre été", and started learning with my computer on the top of my piano.

So yeah, this tune composed by Yann Tieresen, was the first tune I've learned by ear 5 years ago. It was a strange feeling to discover it again, after almost 3 years without playing it.

I hope you'll enjoy, and for the purists, I'm already sorry for the improvisation at the end. (Also, all my setup was shaky, so it adds up some kind of percussion...)



Thanks for reading, watching and listening. Don't forget to... Blah blah blah.


Best Regards,

Yours Sincerely,

Truly yours,

Yours faithfully,

Cordially,

Respectfully yours,

Sincerely,

Kind regards,

Your most affectionate friend,

Troilo

Sort:  

Pretty. . . I'm going to learn piano once I get enought o buy a nice keyboard with weighted keys.

With this comment you already won 1/10 of a Chinese $60 keyboard. :D

Loading...

That's a great song. I've never heard it before. I like when it unexpectedly takes off towards the end.

Cheers man. Keep up the awesome music. I really appreciate how creative you are.

Oh I'm happy that I made you discover it! And really honored that you liked the end, as it's one of my own improvisation. :)

Thanks my friend!

Oh cool. Nice to hear that was your improvisation. I feel like people should always get the chance to make music their own. (Some exceptions).
But, music a feeling. Why just match someone's song entirely. When its yours its more real.
Cheers.

You always have the right words. :)

It's exactly what I feel, sometimes I try to match someone's song entirely, and I'm a bit bored. But when I start to play without trying to copy, just improvising, I feel much more alive - real.

Cheers!

Ooo I love this song... the first one especially! Ahh you are so talented! :) ohh

Ohh thank you! The second one is just a total improvisation. Haha.

At least you had a better taste in music than me as a kid. I used to listen to a lot of crap like this:

Ok, some of them were good (Special D, Tiesto, Barthezz)

Hahahaha. I listened to this kind of crap too! But at 13 years old I think. ;)

I forgot one of the best, listening to it right now ^^ Gigi D'Agostino!

I actually love this one! :D

Nice one! I loved "Amelie" as it was titled in the US when it came out. The soundtrack by Yann Tiersen is dreamy. Amazing you learned this song by ear but love is a great motivation. It's a fine rendition. Thanks for the story and music.

Thank you! Yes, Yann Tiersen is an amazing composer. If you like his songs, you should try to learn one, they're "quite easy" to play.
Cheers!

my favourite.. also playing it on the piano :)

Cheers. ;)

Well sometimes old music takes me back to my childhood days and makes me lost ;(

Oh :(

Why? You were lost as a child?

lol no, I mean it makes me lost in my old memories ;/

And is it a good thing? :)

Personally, I always prefer to live in the present moment!

I dont know, but emotions you know :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28