Post #1: Music - Reflecting individuals and our society. My personal, non-academic babbles.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

              

                                                   Photo credits: Wiki Commons


                    My first post - Just my personal opinion on what we're reflecting through music

I'm writing directly on Steemit. If I write anywhere else, I might be able to finish this, but then I'd lose the initiative to post this. 

Music is a part of my life. As a music education student with a love-hate relationship with it, I spend most of my school life immersed in it. I have music theory classes, music history, music education, small instrumental ensemble, chorus class, music lessons, day in and day out, it's music, music, music. But what I want to write about isn't about that. It's about how music is reflecting what's happening to society in general, either as a collective, or as individuals. 

This just popped into my mind after a concert today, in which the chamber ensemble of our music department participated, as accompanists for the seventeen year old piano student of our department chair. The kid is really something, an excellent pianist on top of being a violinist and a marimba player.

                                        Photo credits: Wiki Commons

(This is for those who don't know what a marimba looks like. The soloist played Czardas and Flight of the Bumble Bee on it. Look up those music on Youtube if you're interested.)

Well, thinking about his skills, the music that he made, brought me this thought, 'Just what do people show through music?'. Be it vocal, instrumental, pop, jazz, acapella, solo, folk, baroque, those music, what were they showing? What were the composers thinking? What did they feel? What was happening to them, that they felt that way?

When you study music history, you'll find out that the music by famous composers of different eras showed something of what was happening during their time in their music. 

Medieval - religious music and those about courtly love.

Baroque - embellishments and extravagance.

Classical - Mozart, Haydn, with their structured music, and Beethoven, our rebel, trying to break free from the bonds of patrons and rules ( of music).

And my favorite, the Romantic period, where music flourished and composers did what they wanted, where patriotic musicians involved their nationalistic styles in their compositions. 

But I digress, this isn't a music history lesson. What I wanted to say is, that musicians have their own way of expressing themselves through composition, and with enough examples, patterns show. Their way of thinking, what's happening, etc.

That is why music remains an integral part of society and culture, showing us what goes on, in a specific society or in the minds of this generation's youth. 

Which is why I had Jonghyun's photo in the first place! Here's another one:

  

                                     Photo credits: Wiki Commons

I'm not a fan of Korean pop culture. There's the occasional K-drama I watch, but that's the extent of it. My tastes  go to Japanese culture, like my favorite Joe Hisaishi.

This guy, Jonghyun, I only became aware of him when I came across several posts of my K-pop-loving friends. He committed suicide. What I noted was that several of the songs that he wrote (the lyrics were on the posts of my friends), reflected his state of mind, which, I believe, was suicidal. Maybe, what happened shouldn't have really been a surprise to people. 

It's just that, a lot of songs nowadays are about things that many people relate to. Depression, sorrow, love, heartbreak, drugs (I think, I don't really listen to pop, or rock, jazz, or blues), sex, these topics are stuff that people sympathize, empathize with. Songs, are showing present society's state of mind. 

And, there's also the possibility, that the music that most people love, affect their paradigm, the way a person thinks or feels about something. After all, if people affect music, it does the same to us.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

That's all. It's just a personal opinion I'd like to throw out there. 


Signing off,

MatchaGirl (I really love tea)


Sort:  

Congratulations @tin-tin, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

hi! your comment on my post led me here. hehe. I see that you're studying music. whereabouts if you don't mind me asking? :)

Oh, I answered the other post :) I'm from the Philippines. And rather than as a performer or educator, my aim is bringing attention to music education through research. I'm hoping to work with community music education programs for the underprivileged.
I also see that you're from Kuala Lumpur, our music department went their couple of years ago and held a music camp outside of the city :) It's a good and interesting country.

wow! that's something really cool that you're into. aside from performance and education, ​I've only heard of music therapy. it's really cool what you're doing. can't wait to hear more about it!

I've been the Philippines as well. with my church worship team we performed at an event. but you guys are awesome musicians. great music heritage. and not to mention the singers. Philipinos have the best voices around this region! :)

Thanks. There are a lot of potential talents in music here, as anywhere else, but we're lacking in music education. Hopefully it changes in the future. :)

I'm sure you can make a difference! let's do this together! 💪

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87