You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unpopular opinion: Knowing how to read music is not that important.

in #music6 years ago

Yeah man! There’s an old saying that sums the whole reading music I think ... “horses for courses”
I learnt how to read drum music about 10years a go and for me it was a pivotal part in learning the drums . For a while there almost anything I wanted to play I needed the sheet music to sight read to play to. One of the first bands I played in did mostly covers and I remember spending hours and hours transcribing audio to paper and during rehearsals I was the weirdo with a music stand sight reading haha! I did eventually learn to just remember the music and use more of an improvisational approach. So I guess reading music is a good skill to have that can be beneficial but it’s not the be all and end all for all musical applications.

Sort:  

That's really interesting dude. You don't hear about a lot of people learning to play drums in that order haha. Almost all the drummers I know went by ear first. That's awesome though!

Reading music is definitely useful, for sure. And truthfully every time I have this conversation, that's usually the point I have to reiterate and defend lol. Not that I don't think it's useful/good to know, but just that we emphasize it too heavily in your run-of-the-mill music curriculum (while licensing, business, ear training, making simple chord progressions, etc. are often overlooked until much later). In my opinion, you should just learn anything you can get your hands on!

Yep! Very well said my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64578.03
ETH 2533.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64