You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Musical Memories #1

in #music6 years ago

Well, as you can imagine the little character revelations derived from something like this tend to come in bits and pieces. Your recent post on "the candy," for instance, suggests you're unusually open to what we metaphysical types call "epiphanies" -- little pieces of insight, joy or wisdom that come along just in the course of ordinary living.

Often these are so personally relevant or meaningful you can't really explain them in words. Other people just don't (and possibly can't) appreciate them the way you do. And yet, for you, they were magic -- as if Spirit itself stopped for a moment and whispered in your ear. Suddenly, life itself makes more sense -- and your perceptions are changed.

Something you didn't understand in exactly this way before becomes clearer, more logical, more profound. The cohesiveness of life itself reveals itself to you in that instant -- and you, too, are somehow changed.

All this suggests a level of connection, sensitivity and even "questing" in you that is ... well, unusual. These experiences are more common (by far) when you're at least open to them.

In my experience, people who recognize epiphanies and "life's little surprises" are more interesting, more dimensional -- more appreciative of mystery and wonder than "the usual sort." This at least alerts me to such possibilities in you -- and I expect I'll see more of it now.

As for the sweaty guy, he's growing on me. Like a best-friend's big, shaggy, way-too-friendly but much beloved dog, he's part of the package. Eventually you begin to see why your friend is so charmed by him -- why he puts up with his muddy bear-hugs, his sloppy I've-been-drinking-again face kisses and his coffee-table-clearing tail wags. Call that an epiphany, too -- and you're a better person for it.

Sort:  

The little surprises you mention in terms of the 'candy' article are in fact snippets of music that 'do it for me'. Most people think my taste of music is quirky and can't understand why I cant hear things on my first listen, and this is explained in an article I wrote what seems like an age ago now.

However, when they do 'sink in' I get a lot out of them, especially if they are complex pieces. I have yet to meet anyone who has this 'cracking the nut' problem I have.

They all say the same. 'I know on first listen if I like the song or not'. Sometimes it takes 10-15 listens for me to pick on something, or a 'hook'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60626.97
ETH 3358.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45