The Swinging 30's 40's and 50's - The Ink Spots

in #music6 years ago

I really love the music from the 30's, 40's and 50's.
I think it was an excellent era of music which you don't really hear anymore unless your watching a specific bunch of movies.
It's sad because I think this music is too good to be forgotten.
One of the things I love most about the internet is that I can find music from this era easily, though I really wish I could go out for a night on the town and listen to this music instead of the new age stuff.

It's really interesting to compare music of this era as opposed to music from now days.
One thing I really notice is that men from this era really appreciated music from women. I dunno maybe I just don't see it with today's music.
You just don't see the guys giving the same respect for women's vocals as you would back in the old days. So if a girl want's to chuck on some Lady Gaga the guys will turn their nose up at it.
I have seen this many times and have to admit I do it myself, I just can't stand some of the shit. Now compare that to back in the old days where guys would actually like to listen to women's vocals, and make the loudest applause after a set.
Somewhere along the way something has changed.

When I listen to music from the 30's, 40's and 50's I have to admit I love hearing a woman sing just as much as a man.
There were some really outstanding artists to come out of this era, both male and female composers.
Growing up as a kid we got given the old beta tape player and a rather large collection of movies, these movies I guess you could say were rather old fashioned and very often had music from this era. I guess this would be where I first got the appreciation of 30's, 40's and 50's music.



src


   

☠️ The Ink Spots ☠️

 
The Ink Spots are one of my favorite groups from this era, they have produced a number of hits which I think are exceptional.
The Ink Spots were an American group from the 30's and 40's.
They had a very unique style and utilized the slowed pace vocals which I love the best. That slower style of music very often has a sad feeling about it.

The group had many hits which reached the top 10 or higher on the US pop charts.
The Ink Spots also team up with Ella Fitzgerald to produce a couple of number 1 hits.

From Wikipedia:

In 1989, the Ink Spots (Bill Kenny, Deek Watson, Charlie Fuqua and Hoppy Jones) were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and in 1999 they were inducted into the Vocal Group Hall of Fame. Since the Ink Spots disbanded in 1954, there have been well over 100 vocal groups calling themselves "The Ink Spots" without any right to the name, and without any original members of the group. These groups often have claimed to be "2nd generation" or "3rd generation" Ink Spots.



src



☠️ Ella Fitzgerald and The Inkspots - Into Each Life Some Rain Must Fall ☠️

 
Here is one of the tracks where The Ink Spots teamed up with Ella Fitzgerald.
I think this track is an absolute gem.
The harmony this track has sounds amazing, and the voices of Bill Kenny and Ella Fitzgerald are just so good.

I love this track as it really reminds me to not lose the blues in my heart, which can easily be done.
There is something about listening to music like this which really seems to take away all of my worries.
 



☠️ The Ink Spots - It's All Over But The Crying ☠️

 
Here is another track from The Ink Spots which I really love.
It has their classic and uniquely styles slower pace and harmony that they were so good at.
It's such a simple song and there really is not a lot going on but a few strings being pulled and a few piano keys getting depressed, yet it's a masterpiece.
Funny how things like that work.

This song really reminds me of when a relationship ends with someone that you really love, and the only thing that remains is the sadness.
 



☠️ The Ink Spots - I Don't Want To Set The World On Fire ☠️

 
I think this is probably my favorite track from The Ink Spots, though it's really tough to pick a favorite from this group.
This is another track with their unique style which they pull off so well.
It's such a simple track and it's really amazing how good it sounds. I guess you either like this stuff or you don't but I love it.

This track is pretty well spot on with lyrics, and is exactly how I am.
Love these lyrics.

I've lost all ambition for worldly acclaim
I just want to be the one you love
And with your admission that you'd feel the same
I'll have reached the goal I'm dreaming of, believe me



☠️ The Ink Spots - We'll Meet Again ☠️

 
I really love this track from The Ink Spots.
This track makes me think about the friends and family that I have lost over the years.
One thing I do love about The Ink spots is how about half way through he starts talking like he is actually doing it for real.
I really love the way the track starts too, with that gentle guitar tune.
The lyrics are really good

We'll meet again
We'll meet again, don't know where, don't know when,
But I know we'll meet again, some sunny day.
Keep smiling through, just like you always do,
'Til the blue skies drive the dark clouds far away.

 

 

steemit-dragon-banner.png

Sort:  

I love some old timey music. Whether it's 40's 50's or 60's It don't matter.
While listening to the Ink spot songs, I was thinking about back up singers from that era and how the whole back up singer thing has changed with the times.
I love hearing the old tunes.
Bitty Wop Wop Wop

Yeah it's amazing how much music has changed over the years, it's not just back up singers but the whole works.
I wish I did grow up in this era, but would have also loved to grow up in the 60's and 70's

I like 'Whispering Grass' best, but all the songs are great. There are a number of moody sounding groups from that era that were very popular on the radio. I also like the Andrews sisters who are a contrast to The Inkspots.

Yeah Whispering Grass is another great track form them, they have such a unique style :)
The Andrews Sisters are great too :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TheVillan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 4.21% upvote from @upme thanks to @thevillan! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67475.08
ETH 3475.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65