Quest for new music - This weeks finds!

in #music7 years ago

Quest for new music - This weeks finds!

My quest is constant and fortunately I work with some very talented musicians who are always offering me new artists to try out. I work in the Brooklyn Music Factory and as you will imagine a lot of the chats I have with fellow workers is about music. A reference here or a straight up album of the day. A good recommendation goes a long way. Some times I have heard the song recommended to me but never known the artist's name and other times it is all a new musical experience. Without further a due. My highlights this week. In no particular order.

Cassandra Wilson
I came across Cassandra in a book I have just finished reading just as a friend had mentioned her band. The book mentioned her as a continuation of the soul/blues tradition. She is backed up by the M-base band and they are all incredible musicians based in Brooklyn.

Devendra Banhart
I was showing my mate John the steemit platform and he wanted to see one of my posts. As he was listening he said I should check out Devendra Banhart "this dude may take you places" he said. Its folky and pop but with something of a little extra substance in there. The first song shown to me had a strange video that reminded me of Alejandro Jodorowsky. (He makes cool films if you've never seen them, I recommend them).
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alejandro_Jodorowsky

Anyway I have been listening this week and I like what I hear.

Vin Gordon
Same friend put me onto this one, he plays in a ska reggae band and wanted me to check this guy out. Its instrumental reggae stuff, I left youtube on autoplay and it took me on a journey of the music. I was not disappointed.

Thats my weekly digest!
Follow me for more musical related content.

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

Cheers big spender ;)

You got a 0.29% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jout!

Amazing video , nice post @thesimpson

Thank you, hopefully you will get as much satisfaction from the musical discoveries as I do. Which video stood out for you?

in video I hear music bro is amazing :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @thesimpson to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thank you!

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @thesimpson.

Graci !

This post has received a 55.56% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @thesimpson. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Thanks, although we both know that was an accident!

This post has received gratitude of 3.42 % from @appreciator thanks to: @thesimpson.

appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52