Little Miracle Music Theater- Episode 2: ‘Cryin’ Days’ [VIDEO]

in #music7 years ago

Grab the popcorn, put the children to bed, and sit back for another original episode of Little Miracle Music Theater, right here on Steemit!

little3.jpg

First is the video presentation of the original song 'Cryin' Days', which would probably be best described as hobo jazz, followed by the lyrics to ‘Cryin’ Days’ and then I’ll describe the making of the video with backstage photos and some inside looks at the creation of the brand new intro clip. Please enjoy!

Cryin’ Days


Cryin' Days

Cryin’ days, cryin’ days, cryin’ days are here
You know it’s time when you hear the song, song comes from the low down

You tore up your trailer and you ruined your well
go ahead and throw another log on hell
Old lady surely passed a litter or two
steely eyes kinda burn a hole in you
and when you hear the song from a cold steel bell
go ahead and throw another log on hell
‘cause cryin’ days, cryin’ days, cryin’ days are here
You know it’s time when you hear the song
song comes from the lowdown

You tore up your trailer and you ruined the well
go ahead and throw another log on hell
catch you hobo-ing in the middle of town
purple-haired woman threw a nickel in your shoe
and when you hear the song from a cold steel bell
go ahead and throw another log on hell


The Making of Cryin’ Days


I probably wrote the song Cryin' Days around 1993, but had never performed it anywhere before this video was recorded. This one was recorded the same way as the two previous music videos in this series: I recorded the rhythm tracks of bass and drums on GarageBand, then piped that into the room live while I filmed myself performing the song, playing to the pre-recorded ‘band’.

Cardboard Camera Car on a Dolly


This video featured the new intro for the series, and the intro required that I build a little camera car using a two-wheeled hand truck (a dolly) with the cardboard car windows taped onto it, allowing me to ‘drive’ up to the front of the theater in the intro clip.
little10.jpg

little7.jpg

little8.jpg

little9.jpg

The cardboard camera car on a dolly was all for that three-and-a-half second intro scene in this video, but it was worth the effort because it was fun to make, and also I'll be using that intro clip for a while in this series of Little Miracle videos-- I'll recycle the video clip a few times!

New Steem-powered Spotlight!


I really have a lot of different lamps around here already, but the other day I used a bit of STEEM to purchase a new spotlight for the theater-- about $20. I now own a spotlight!
little4.jpg

Here are a couple more behind-the-scenes photos taken during the production. Thanks for watching, and stay tuned for more episodes! Now that the background is finished I can focus on recording new songs for Little Miracle Music Theater, and maybe even adhere to a regular schedule of releasing them.

little6.jpg

little5.jpg


I hope that you have enjoyed this video, or if you have kept up with the series so far, let me know in the comments any questions, concerns or comments about the music of @therealpaul or the filming process.


@therealpaul

Sort:  

That will be me a fan of hobo jazz now!

That hobo jazz is awesome stuff, and a hobo performer will usually accept cash, food, or half-smoked stogies as payment, so it's affordable entertainment, now playing in an alley near you.
Thanks for watching, and I appreciate the input a lot!

Half smoked stogies. Man I like the sound of that. Cheers!!!

Wow! Very nice. Great job. You are a genius and a creator, wish you all the best for your journey to music world. Thanks for sharing. Happy steeming friend.

Thank you for commenting, but without your up-vote it seems like spammy drivel.

Most welcome friend. Listening Music is my my hobby, I listen Hindi songs and little bit sing to.I like music as it can touch all most people's hearts. So please keep working, my best wishes remain with you. Have a great day.

The up-votes help me keep working. Up-votes are how Steemit works, also.

It's okay, let's play the game together, sharing and supporting. Good luck friend.

That was great to watch :D you are superb with you skills

Thanks @blazing, I'm glad that you watched it, and I appreciate the compliment!

You have a great skills :) I enjoyed it

I'm happy that you watched it, and I really appreciate the compliment too, that helps me to plan more of these.

I might sneak in the back door a little late, but I wouldn't miss a Little Miracle Theater performance for anything.

Man, I am just in awe of the way you play the piano. This is such a great performance of a really catchy tune. Have you played in the Steemit Open Mic yet? You'd probably pick up a bunch of new followers there.

The spotlight is a nice touch. I loved the lighter, but we can see you better this way. :-)

Thank you, I always hope that you'll like the tunes. I hear of open mic, I suppose I would use that as a tag, I'll check into it, might be a good way to be heard more. I'm glad you snuck in!

The part of ...You know it's time... is very catchy. Like a trigger pitch.

I can't remember now but the whole chorus may have been built around that phrase, a 'you know you've reached the bottom when...' scenario or two can make a song it seems!

Wow it is amazing...
Very nice and good job my dear friend @therealpaul
Wel done...I'm really like your post...
Cheers!..

Was it worth the up-vote? Oh wait no up-vote nevermind

You like but no up-vote, makes no sense, up-votes are how Steemit works. Otherwise your comment is amazing, well done and good job.

I'm so sorry my dear friend @therealpaul
This time I forgot it and it is my mistake..
I'm always upvoted your every post...
Thank you so much my friend @therealpaul explian my fault and I never do it....
Yoyr down vote is my frist down vote in steemit..
It's ok my friend..we are good friends in this platform...
Please try understand my situation..
Wel done....keep it up post..
Cheers!..

Thank you for replying, I will remove the downvote, and I think that I was too quick to make that choice, I was feeling down. I appreciate your words, and always like your replies.

You are wel come my dear friend @therealpaul
Thank you so much understood this situation and your kindly support...
I think you are one of better people in this platform..
Wel done and thanks again remove your downvote..

You are welcome, I apologize for my reaction, and thanks for replying.

Way to go! Nice performance and creative arts.

Another reason for "Cryin' days". Cheers.
Capture.JPG

Thank you! I appreciate your watching it.

Yes. That is a sad screenshot indeed; at least cryptos maintain a uniform inconsistency-- if it kept going up it would be scary, down even worse, but if it were to stand still for a second, then everybody would frown and worry equally I guess.

That's a catchy tune, definitely the type I'll find myself singing or humming :) Definitely capturing that smoky jazz bar atmosphere!

I tried to get some smoke to show up in the spotlight, but by myself there was no way I could puff that much and still perform the bit!

Actually I thought about saying something about the lack of smoke, but I didn't want to add unnecessary work to the considerable work you already put in. I wish more people took a moment to open this up, they're missing out.

It reminds me of the early days of performing out around the college towns-- we would play our heads off to a handful of uninterested students after driving many hours and setting up the gear. This is like a new venue for me, nobody wants to tap their foot unless the cool kids are doing it first. As before, I'll keep setting it up, and having fun doing it, even if the room is empty. Thanks for resteeming!

The room will never be completely empty, that I can guarantee :)

BRAVO BRAVO!!!

Thank you! Thanks. And the character in the song thanks you too, he took a deep bow and found a nice half-smoked cigarette butt in that alley!

:D
I wonder where that could have come from...
LOL

It did look a little familiar...

haha, I have a jazz singing friend who lives on cigars and jack daniels before a show...

I keep meaning to pick up a couple of cigars to use as props, that hobo character could have used one.
I figured out that I can't drink before a show; I used to, and I would think that I sounded great, but when I heard the recordings? No drinking til after!

Yeah, I had the same thing with drinking before my fire shows...
But I didnt notice it in recordings but when I showered and realised how badly I burnt myself and my hair lol
Not fun

Cool, I didn't know that you were a pyro-tech performer-- maybe 100 proof liquor isn't the best thing to have laying around in that case!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98