Glimpse Into My Entertaining Past- Me Singing Zappa in 1994 (VIDEO)

in #music5 years ago

Look at the keyboard player in this 1994 video-- It's me!

I'm lucky that I get a chance to act like a complete weirdo in front of everyone like I did back in 1994 at this Frank Zappa tribute show, and luckily for everyone, somebody filmed it and uploaded it to utube.

My bit comes up around the 2:25 mark, and keep in mind that it was my job to entertain the crowd as I sang Frank Zappa's Orange County that night. Here, nearly 25 years later, I don't know if I entertained the crowd that night necessarily, but I know that I am entertained watching it now!

Am I acting, or am I just a natural freak? Both? You decide!


yes, that is the Real Paul playing the Rhodes electric piano and singing in the video... so long ago

IMG_4721.jpg

thanks for looking in!

Click @therealpaul for more

Sort:  

Such intensify!! You are lucky to have video footage from then. I have our had old footage from my name but I think it is lost now. Damn pre proper digital age!

I think the intensity was real, I remember opening my eyes and there was that camera. Time to ham it up! I must have thought, just in case it anyone ever sees the film. It occurred to me though, that everyone was looking at me-- I had to do something entertaining. Yeah I have scads of old video cassettes that won't play in anything new, I can't see getting excited enough to digitize any of it at this point, but maybe someday.

Someday!! It's something that might be gotten round to!

I'll probably put priority on the tapes that include my daughter when she was little, I'd like to see those again someday for sure.

It pretty good. I like it. I like the screaming/ cawing at 3:38. Not sure if thats you or someone else though lol

Yep that was me! Cawing is a good word for it I think.

Wow look how young you were. 1994 I think was the year Frank Zappa died. Or was it 93? It was around that time.
Would you be able to meet up sometime outside of a gig? George's isn't a place I can take a baby. I come into town to the Public Library a lot.

He died Dec 4th 1993, this tribute was less than a year later.
I'd be happy to meet up sometime at the library, sometime around Thanksgiving I'll be caught up on this work that I've scheduled, I'll let you know when I'm freed up then.

Sounds good Paul just keep me posted :-). Looking forward to meeting up.

Zappa was such a genius. good video. Yes i had a Rhodes electric piano once in 1986. Those were heavy suitcases LOL Had a unique sound though. You guys are really jamming. Thanks man for sharing.

I finally sold mine back around 5 years ago, and these days the sound can be mimicked, close enough, for about 100 pounds less!

Smart move! LOL i sold mine in the early 90's

I'm impressed, you rocked it well. So many talents, and long-ago video to prove it to boot. You guys were good. Classic stuff.

We worked on that show for months, and then only performed the show once, so I'm glad it was captured on film, it makes me giggle to see it now.

Welcome to Steem therealpaul! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86