Music Covers - I Put A Spell On You.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago

There are many songs that have been so popular that they have been covered by various artists over the decades. I covered House of the Rising Sun recently and it made for intriguing listening… how the tune was interpreted from the 1940’s through to the 1980’s.
Another one of my favorite songs was a tune called You Put a Spell On Me by the band Audience
Well, I recently heard a version done by Joss Stone and I thought of doing a comparison post of different versions of this song


Joss Stone - You Put A Spell on Me, Live

Now this is not a bad version and the girl is certainly decent (very decent) eye candy but the real point of this particular missive is how incredibly shocked I was to discover how many artists have performed this particular track.
The oldest recording I could find was that done by Screamin Jay Hawkins from 1956. Also not a shabby recording at all ….


Screamin Jay Hawkins

A brilliant Blues version performed live by Samantha Fish. I was originally NOT going to include this one, but I thought it would warm you all up for Audience. Crank it up loud and enjoy this one


Samantha Fish

Some other versions one can easily find on Youtube

  • Amy Winehouse
  • Christine Aguilera (sort of worth a listen)
  • Nina Simone (left me cold… not her usual classy self)
  • Creedence Clearwater Revival (foot tapping but nothing memorable)
  • Bette Midler (from Hocus Pocus)
  • Annie Lennox
  • Katie Melua
  • Tim Curry

And for me the rooting tooting bestest version of them all ...Audience


Audience

Bonus time… a 12 artist medley of the song where you will find even more artists performing the song


I Put a Spell On You medley

Do you know of any other song which has had so many covers performed...perhaps Bing Crosby’s White Christmas?

As always , thank you for listening and reading and the continued support...

Sort:  

That was really interesting. It's one of those songs that I seem to have known my whole life, though I never had any particular attachment to it. I wouldn't have even known whose version I had heard. I had assumed Nina Simone, but the closest to what was in my head was CCR, which makes sense timewise. So anyway, that means I didn't have any preconceived notions about what it should sound like.

So I enjoyed all four versions. Screaming Jay certainly earnt his name! In the end, although I'm not usually that into blues, I think I liked the Samantha Fish version best.

And it was fascinating to check out the medley. Boy, Annie Lennox still has a great set of lungs.

very good music, i really like the video postings @themagus, and i resteem your post.

good post, please visit my blog I am a newcomer in this account, please help friend, thank you

a good post my good friend .. and I also like the same that his name is my friend's music

Amazing vidios my friend, cool👍

Wow so awesome illustrations Upvoted and followed Wishing to be as grow my skills to draw like that

music is very good my friend @themagus, good luck always my friend, I am very happy if you want to visit my blog, because I really need support from someone like you, thank you.

cool friends, posting good music videos friends ,,, help visit my blog friends yes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57951.76
ETH 2347.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36