Music ClassicssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music8 years ago

Music!! How does one live without it? Not only does it add tremendous value to our daily lives, it also enhances our enjoyment when watching a movie…. Can you imagine that scene in Jaws where the shark is cruising up behind the hero’s boat…… and there is no music at all. Just silence !


Image: Pixabay.com
Over the years there have been some great classics which, to my mind, have endured throughout the decades impervious to generations and genre’s. So I decided to share some of those which I believe are classics in the true sense of the word.
From Google.

classic

adjective

judged over a period of time to be of the highest quality and outstanding of its kind.

"a classic novel"
synonyms: definitive, authoritative; More ###

A superb number from the 1950’s

Bobby Darin - Mack the Knife

Who has never heard this great Christmas number ….

Bing Crosby – White Christmas

For years this song held the title of the biggest posthumous hit by a male vocalist

Otis Redding – dock of the bay

One of my all time favourite songs although I hated it when I was young, the incomparable Frank Sinatra aka ‘Ole Blue Eyes’

Frank Sinatra – My Way

And now, the end is near;
And so I face the final curtain.
My friend, I'll say it clear,
I'll state my case, of which I'm certain.

I've lived a life that's full.
I've traveled each and every highway;
And more, much more than this,
I did it my way.

Regrets, I've had a few;
But then again, too few to mention.
I did what I had to do
And saw it through without exemption.

I planned each charted course;
Each careful step along the byway,
And more, much more than this,
I did it my way.

Yes, there were times, I'm sure you knew
When I bit off more than I could chew.
But through it all, when there was doubt,
I ate it up and spit it out.
I faced it all and I stood tall;
And did it my way.
Lyric Credits

Which have I missed, and what are your favorite classics? Please share in the comments section.

Sort:  

Nice collection of classics there :-)

I think classics can be found in any time. Today in my arthritis class, we enjoyed (well, I did, hopefully my ladies did too) such classics as:
Mozart - part of A little Night Music
Telemann - part of a trumpet concerto
Andy Williams - I Can't Help Falling in love with You
Fred Astaire - Putting On The Ritz
Elvis Presley - All Shook Up
The Everley Brothers - All have to do is Dream
Petula Clark - Downtown
Lynn Anderson - Rose Garden

and tonight, we were checking out some completely different classics, including
The Sweet - Ballroom Blitz
Pearl Jam - Even Flow
A new NZ song written especially for a strret fair coming up in a couple of weeks (that the choir will be singing bits of)
and a new Lorde song

Hey, good to hear from you stranger {friendly wave} .... no, no, no @kiwideb ... Lynne Anderson Rose Garden ...a CLASSIC {rolls eyes in disbelief...shivers violently} ...LOL..nice music there but no classics imo..except of course the Classics {grin}

I hardly even pop in on Steemit these days... I value my time a bit more. I shall stop back after HF 17 and see what the response is. {meanders off to @kiwideb's blog to check for new posts}

I hope you didn't waste any time trying to find content on my blog :-( While I hope to be more active here again soon, there is too much else going on at the moment. A periodic visit to my favourite authors is about as good as it gets.

Good to see you appreciated my flippancy {grin}. Though I do wonder how to determine whether something is a classic. I've decided that it's whether it stands the test of time, within its genre. I suspect that Rose Garden isn't considered a classic, even amongst hard core country aficionados, which you and I are most definitely not.

But even then, it becomes more nebulous. Why is "My Way" a classic, but "New York New York" by the same singer isn't? (or is it?) I prefer New York, but mainly because it gives me an excuse to play with a sparkly hat and pretend that I'm performing on Broadway.

I don't think my arthritis ladies altogether get my flights of fancy, like at the end of the Can Can (yes, we do a seated version of the Can Can) when we wave our arms in the air and I say "as we slide down into our splits".

Oh well, that went off on a tangent....

Hahaha... Would love to be a fly on the wall at one of those classes.

Last week I created no small amount of mirth when I attempted to skip for them (after a post by kus-knee about the benefits of skipping) - luckily hop & skip, not rope skipping. That would have been the week to be a fly on the wall.

@kiwideb... you sound as mad as a hatter {smile} ... I am certain you keep @sift666 on his toes!!

Some truly 'warm-your-cockles' classics :)

I hope at lest one of them brought a smile to your face, or invoked memories of earlier times. thanks for the response, is appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71