Music - A walk down memory lane.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

I thought I would share some musical memories with you all .... especially the younger set of followers who sometimes visit my blog.

A long, long time ago I heard a song with the line "Oh yeah, life goes on, long after the thrill of living is gone" ... and it sounded quite nonsensical to me.... I was 22 at the time and life was a complete thrill


Johnny Cougar Mellencamp - Jack and Diane

There were some really crazy tunes in the 70's ... one such number was called Popcorn performed by a band (I use that term loosely) appropriately named....HOT BUTTER. Give it a listen, but if you stop it half way through I shall surely understand


Popcorn - Hot Butter

From that excellent font of knowledge, Wikipedia..............

"Popcorn" is an early synth-pop instrumental, composed by Gershon Kingsley in 1969 and first appearing on his album Music to Moog By.

The same year it was released and recorded at Audio Fidelity Records label in New York City. The title may refer to the short staccato or sharp "popping" sound used, or to pop music and its being 'corny', i.e., kitschy.[3] The title is generally written as one word, although some single sleeves (such as the one illustrated) present it as two words, "Pop Corn."

In 1972, Hot Butter's rerecording was a huge hit in many countries. "Popcorn" has since been covered by a great number of artists.
Source

Speaking of instrumentals in the mid 90's a gentleman by the name of Robert Concino (studio name Robert Miles) put together a trance/chill track called 'Children'.... it sold over 5 million copies.


Robert Miles - Children (Dreamland version... I prefer this to the original)

Sadly Robert Miles succumbed to stage 4 metastatic cancer earlier this year at the tender age of 47.

While listening to Robert Miles my memory latched onto what I believe is one of the most addictive tunes I have ever heard. It could possibly be classified as "cliche'ey" .... but it is just so listenable. Yes, I was a rocker through and through....yet I went out and bought the vinyl *Ballad for Adeline" by Richard Clayderman. Give it a listen


Richard Clayderman - Ballad pour Adeline

Last but not least we can finish off with a long instrumental which was one of my all time favorites as a youngster. The Dutch band Focus released a single called Hocus Pocus which actually contains 'yodelling' ...yup you read correctly.
Listen and watch .... they are talented musicians but also very very strange.


Focus - Hocus Pocus live 1973

Okay, that is enough for today ..... let me know your music memory tunes or if you would want me to dig up some more obscure tunes from my dim and distant past...

Sort:  

First i thought "what the fuck? Yodelling?)" But i know the song (not by name) - great one :)
That popcorn thing is crazy but also cool in a strange way :D
This is one of my favourite ones which i played on the drums as a child all the time:


Have a nice weekend :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49