Memorable Movie Sound TrackssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago

Whilst walking my dog this morning I realised a tune was going round and round in my head. After a while I remembered it was a song by Maureen McGovern called ‘The Morning After’. Which set me to puzzling about which movie that was a sound track to. Which then sparked the idea of doing a memorable movie sound tracks post, mainly from my childhood and young adult days. So if these all appear dated….forgive me but enjoy the trip down memory lane.


So what better one to start with than “The Morning After” performed by Maureen McGovern from The Poseiden Adventure 1973 - I so remember sitting on the edge of my seat tense as hell throughout the movie.

Storyline:

A passenger ship, on her way to the scrap yard is pushed to her limits by the new owners to save on the dismantling fees. A tidal wave hits her, flipping her over so that all the internal rooms are upside down. A priest takes a mixed band of survivors on a journey through the bowels of the ship in an attempt to survive.
more here

Who will ever forget a young Tom Cruise and the gorgous Kelly McGillis in the movie Top Gun?


Take my Breath Away – Berlin 1986

Storyline:

As students at the United States Navy's elite fighter weapons school compete to be best in the class, one daring young pilot learns a few things from a civilian instructor that are not taught in the classroom.
more here

As we go I am just winging it here, songs that pop into my head which made a lasting impression (the song not the movie) and the performance of Whitney Houston in The Bodyguard is right up there… gooseflesh stuff in my opinion. This in my mind was Kevin Costner’s best performance since the very first Mad Max.


I will always Love You – Whitney Houston 1992

Storyline:

A pop singer has been receiving threatening notes, and her manager hires a bodyguard known for his good work. The bodyguard ruffles the singer's feathers and most of her entourage by tightening security more than they feel is necessary. The bodyguard is haunted by the fact that he was on Reagan's secret service staff but wasn't there to prevent the attack by Hinckley. Eventually the bodyguard and the singer start an affair, and she begins to believe his precautions are necessary when the stalker strikes close to home.
more here

A more light hearted sound track from the movie adaption of the Broadway theatre hit show ‘Hair’.


The Cowsills – Hair 1979

Storyline:

Claude Bukowski leaves the family ranch in Oklahoma for New York where he is rapidly embraced into the hippie group of youngsters led by Berger, yet he's already been drafted. He soon falls in love with Sheila Franklin, a rich girl but still a rebel inside.

I almost included this track in my ‘One Hit Wonders’ post

A final one which features a duet sung by Jennifer Warnes and Joe Cocker in a movie featuring Richard Gere and Debra Winger, ‘An Officer and a Gentleman


Love Lifts us up Where We Belong – Jennifer Warnes and Joe Cocker 1982

Storyline:

Zack Mayo is a young man who has signed up for Navy Aviation Officer Candidate School. He is a Navy brat who has a bad attitude problem. GySgt Foley is there to train and evaluate him and will clearly find Zack wanting. Zack meets Paula, a girl who has little beyond family and must decide what it is he wants to do with his life.
more here

Well this spontaneous post made for an enjoyable couple of hours on this Saturday morning, bringing back good memories. Hope it reached some of you folk as well.

Thanks for reading and hopefully listening. Till next time …Ciao.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.20 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 25 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you...was an enjoyable trip down memory lane.

great post love these songs, berlin take my breath away gets me every time

Thanks... was an enjoyable post. I am sure there are many more great tracks I could have included.

Two weeks late is better than never, right?

Great selection. I love all of those. Although I could have posted back loads of fabulous tracks, the one that sprung to mind while watching Hair was Godspell. I love that from end to end, but I picked one track for you

Day by Day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95