You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMIT ONLY: Muse's Matt Bellamy: "The Guitar Is No Longer A Lead Instrument"

in #music7 years ago (edited)

I think John Mayer, as skilled as he is a guitarist, is partly to blame for the death of the guitar in pop music. When it comes to music, I'm a bona fide hater. I think pop/rock music peaked in the 60s early 70s, had a nice resurgence in the 90s with grunge and hip hop, but then tanked in the 2000s and has continued to go downhill ever since. I think the best stuff out right now is coming from the Garage Psych Rock bands like Oh Sees and King Gizzard and the Wizard Lizard. I think the Guitar will come back, the over-saturation of digital instrumentation will lead to a reversal, back to something more visceral. The digital one man show musical act will become a relic as well, not that these musicians aren't talented, but the concept is gimmicky at its core. But who knows, I'm in my early 30s and decrepit to these 90s born millennial whoopheads.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57676.72
ETH 2356.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39