You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Searching For Operatic Transcendence In Heavy Metal Music

in #music7 years ago

Ooh, a challenge. Does it have to be strictly operatic metal or can it just have elements of both? For example:


The first one is more swing metal with operatic vocals. The second one is something altogether different, I believe Igorrr's music is referred to as baroquecore.

Here's another one from Igorrr that features a bit more of the operatic vocals you might be looking for.

I'm going to keep looking because I'm certain I can find more music in this vein you might be interested in.

Sort:  

Elements of both, please! There are so many different elements to be used in music, why not play with them all.

Baroquecore - I love it! I like the electronica (vaguely dubstep) elements too. They're really not afraid to try everything. And that last piece - what a ride.

Cool, I'll take anything you offer. And follow, for sure!

If you like that Igorrr stuff I recommend that you just follow the youtube rabbit hole as far as you're willing to go. I'm almost certainly going to do a Music from the Underground post about him at some point.

Oh, and if you're willing to get really crazy, his old band has this song you might appreciate.

Also, I don't know if it counts but King Diamond isn't too far removed from opera.

And, I mean, his album, "Them", could easily be turned into an opera.

Those YouTube rabbit holes go deep. You've given me lots to follow, and I think you.

Now I know what I'm doing tomorrow!

Haha, I think I'll probably be joining you, there's some stuff in your post and in the replies I haven't heard so I'm going to have to check that out.

Thanks for making such a good post by the way. And also, thank you for sharing that Barbara Hannigan video, it's something I've not seen or heard before and it fascinates me.

Kinda liked the Igorrr pieces! Thanks for the discovery!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55