Album of the Day: Machine Girl - WLFGRL

in #music7 years ago

Today's album is a real treat for anyone into the harder variants of EDM. As the title says it's Machine Girl's 2014 release, WLFGRL. I only came across this album last week and I honestly don't know where it's been hiding for the last three years because it is right up my alley.

My initial reaction to the album was to say that it sounded like 90's rave had finally grown up, and what an adult it has blossomed into. People more knowledgeable than I have said it combines a mix of house, trap, jungle, wonky, and a bunch of other genres I've only ever heard mention of. Personally I can't really hear much of a trap influence but I'm no expert. The only descriptors I would add into the mix are acid and a touch of good old fashioned breakcore.

I feel that sitting and listening to this album while doing other things is really doing it a disservice. This is the kind of album that makes me wish I had access to a kickass speaker system and an empty warehouse. Oh, and drugs, it makes me wish I had lots and lots of drugs.

If you need a quick dose of energetic mayhem today, you won't regret listening to this one.

Anyway, without any further ado, here's the album.

The album can be downloaded for money here, or for free here. Either way, if you dig it you should pick it up. And here is a decent review of the album, because lord knows you won't get one of those from me, haha.

Here's the video for one of my favorite tracks if you're interested.

Some other tracks that deserve a look are:
かわいい Post Rave Maximalist - I cannot play this one loud enough.
Krystle (URL Cyber Palace Mix) - I get a proper old school vibe from this one.
Ghost - This is the most chill song on the album, well worth a listen.


Well, there you have it. I hope this album makes your day that little bit more interesting.


This is day two of my week long experiment. If by the end of the week nobody cares about these posts I'll probably stop and maybe do a weekly or monthly look at an album, we'll see what happens.

Sort:  

Yes, it is interesting, not little bit but more Thanks @the-dagda

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84