A Blast From The Past, The Dood Loved the 90's

in #music6 years ago

A friend on Minds @steviecrypto posted a Chris Cornell track and although it was the first time I had ever heard it, it immediately took me back to another time. The song was Seasons, and memories of the 90's instantly flooded my mind. It just had that perfect grunge/alternative sound from that era.

I don't know what it is about that era, but The Dood loved the 90's. The music, the people, the fashion. Everything about it was fun. The future seemed so bright, and we all had high hopes for the new millennium.

I won't get too into that, but technology was changing, and everyone could tell life was about to make some pretty big steps forward. I guess a lot played out exactly as I expected, but many other aspects didn't. Frankly I think somehow we zigged when we should of zagged.

Back to the 90's! It was a much simpler time for The Dood. For the most part I made ends however I could. I worked in local nightclubs, did security for concert promoters, had crappy telemarketing jobs and hustled weed to make ends meet. My main mode of transportation was this old beat up Yamaha 400 motorcycle, and I lived in a rather run down house surrounded by some fairly close friends.

Everything was much simpler. I slept all day, worked evenings at various telemarketing gigs, then off to the nightclubs Thursday thru Saturday. When the clubs closed we raved at underground afterhours spots in the various warehouse districts throughout the city. Every weekend brought a new adventure. It was like life on fastforward with a techno/alternative soundtrack.

I started to DJ playing jungle, deep house, and my true love, funky style old skool breakbeats. Good times till around 2005.

This was one of my favorite dj's from that era, and the type of breaks I liked to mix.

Anyway, just feeling nostalgic. It's funny how music can take you back to another time. When I think of the 90's I think of phat pants, alternative music, and rave culture. Hands down this was my favorite era, and a great time to grow up and be alive.

What was your favorite era? Have any music that takes you back to a certain time period or floods your mind with memories?

Sort:  

This is really nice Dood.
Well, how old were you? I think that has a lot to do with too.

Early to mid 20's. Great time to be a young adult.

Awesome music post
Thanks for the sharing
Thank you so much

Thanks for reading and listening.

Good one, pretty nostalgic about the 90's myself. Chris Cornell was great. Have your heard the latest Smashing Pumpkins?? I'm impressed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74