Filipino And Japanese Music Crossover! <3 Let's Get To Know Some Japanese Icons with a Filipino Heart...

in #music6 years ago (edited)


As most of you know, I am a Filipino who is in love with the Japanese culture and subculture. I love both Japan and the Philippines. It's funny how people here and outside Steemit sometimes mistake me for a Japanese because of what I write and usually talk about. Even my Japanese friends tell me that I'm half or that I know more than them especially in terms of Japanese music and anime.

I think it's natural for a person from one culture, to admire another culture. I tend to get overwhelmed by something that isn't very common in my country. Although the Philippines and Japan are both Asian countries, I'm fascinated with its similarities and differences.

One of the many things that fascinates me about Japan is their music. I love listening to Japanese music, be it J-pop, Anime songs, J-rock and even V-kei. Aside from anime, their music encouraged me to learn their language. There's just something in Japanese music that drew me into it.

Don't get me wrong... even if my playlist is full of Japanese music, I also enjoy OPM very much. OPM stands for Original Philippine Music. Mostly, I listen to Filipino bands like South Border, Hale, Rivermaya, Parokya ni Edgar, Itchyworms, Rocksteddy, Eraserheads, etc. I even enjoy listening to BisRock (Bisaya Rock); these are songs sang in our local dialect.

Since I love music from both countries, what will happen if there's a crossover? Wouldn't it be amazing? ^^ When I say crossover, what I mean is that a Filipino singing Japanese songs, Japanese singing Filipino songs, Japanese songs being translated to FIlipino or Filipino songs being translated to Japanese. It's like a mixture of both.

In my case, I have been singing Japanese songs for years now. I even sang a Japanese song during my student's graduation from the language school four years ago and people were shocked because it was the first time they saw me sing in front of people and a Japanese song at that. :)

Now let me introduce you to some Japanese icons who enjoys singing Filipino songs. Sit back and enjoy!

UCHUSENTAI:NOIZ




IMAGE SOURCE



This Japanese band became popular in the Philippines when they joined a reality talent search called "I LOVE OPM", but even before that, I already knew this band. A friend from Canada introduced me to this band years before they became popular in the Philippines. I checked their Japanese songs out that time, but I was unaware that they enjoy singing Filipino songs, so when I saw them on Philippine TV, I felt really surprised and overwhelmed.



VIDEO SOURCE


The song they sang above is an original song from a Filipino band called Rocksteddy. I really like this song, too. They used it as the theme song of the Filipino drama called "Super Inggo" which is about kid superheroes. It's really cool because even though they're performing a Filipino song, there is still this "Japanese rock/V-kei" twist to it. They sang other songs like Narda, Liwanag sa Dilim, etc.

Aisaku Yokogawa




IMAGE SOURCE



Aisaku Yokogawa or better known as AISAKU in the Philippines is another Japanese performer with a Filipino heart. I first saw him in the first ever Bon Odori Festival here in Cebu. He was the guest host and performer that time and from then, I became one of his followers.

He sings Filipino songs but more than that, he translates Filipino songs to Japanese and performs them together with other Japanese who are in the Philippines. He has translated a number of Filipino songs and even made music videos for these Japanese-translated Filipino songs. Below is a video of one of my favorites from him.



VIDEO SOURCE


Ahh~ AISAKU is so cute especially when he sings in Filipino. <3 And in the video, the "ikemen" staff is "Kuya Omurice". He's a Japanese who became viral in the Philippines, too. He sold omurice and other Japanese food in northern Philippines and since he's handsome, he really got the attention of Filipinos. (lol) The three Japanese cosplayers were also very interesting. <3

The song that AISAKU sang is originally a Filipino song called "Akin Ka Na Lang" (Please Be Mine) by Itchyworms which is also another OPM band that I like. There are more Japanese-translated Filipino songs that AISAKU sang. When my voice comes back o me, I'll be singing some of them via DLive. <3

FUMIYA SANKAI




IMAGE SOURCE



Fumiya Sankai is a Japanese YouTuber who is pretty popular in the Philippines. He and his brothers are super hilarious and I really love how they love the Philippines. Please check him out in his YouTube Channel FUMISHUN BASE.

I really love how vocal he is of his love for the Philippines. There are times when I just have a marathon of his YouTube videos together with his brothers. I really want to meet them in the future.

Below is a music video that Fumiya made. He sang a Filipino song called "Hayaan Mo Sila". It's so funny because the Filipino song is too fast for him, but he did his best. Good luck Fumiya!!!! <3 I'm rooting for you.



VIDEO SOURCE


I think, Fumiya-kun is going to shine brightly in the Philippines. He's not just handsome and talented, but he has the heart for the Philippines and the Filipinos. Actually, there is a video on his YouTube channel that really touched my heart and I want to take this chance to write something for him. Let me show you that video first.



VIDEO SOURCE


In the video above, Fumiya-kun stated "More than the Philippines, I fell in love more with the Filipinos." As a Filipino, it made me really happy. I'm glad to know someone from the country that I dearly love also shows great love towards my country. Somehow, I and Fumiya-kun have a common goal.

Here on Steemit, I'm trying to bridge the gap between Japan and the Philippines. As a Filipino, I write things about Japan and how awesome it is. I also try to write something about the Philippines which would be helpful for the Japanese community to know more of my country as well. Fumiya-kun, in the same way, is doing the same on YouTube. He's trying to introduce Japan and the Japanese culture to the Philippines which is mostly more familiar to the Korean culture. Also, by talking about the Philippines and Philippine-related stuff on his videos, more Japanese people will get to know the Philippines.

Thank you so much, Fumiya-kun! I hope you'll continue reaching your dreams. You're not only being supported by your countrymen because we, Filipinos, will back you up as well. Thank you for loving the Philippines, more so, the Filipino people. We love you too, Fumiya-kun! <3




So, there you have it. I hope there'll be more Japanese people who'll be in to the Philippine culture and vice versa. I find it really interesting and heartwarming seeing Filipinos and Japanese culture merging into one since these two are my favorite countries. <3 <3 <3 I guess I really have a Japanese heart as my friends told me. haha

Until then!!!


PS: I don't limit myself with the Philippine and Japanese culture. I'd love to know your country, too <3 See you around!

Sort:  

I've been listening to a lot of fusion reggae; quite inspirational.

Reggae is also pretty relaxing.. <3

宇宙戦隊NOIZ知ってるよ〜😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

いいですね~<3

@tegosheiは、今もフィリピンと日本の架け橋になってると思うよ!これから更になると良いね。応援してよ。

頑張ります!
いつもありがとうございます~!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61152.47
ETH 2665.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55