American Made : Original Song

in #music7 years ago

flag1.jpg

Happy 4th weekend, Steemit!
This seems like the right time to share American Made.

I wrote this song in 2008 or so, just toward the end of the Bush Administration.
Now I sit, nearly 10 years later, listening to the words and it's still relevant today. Some shit don't change...

Full Lyrics:

I was born in the north in the land of the free
Proud of my country so true
But the land that I love, it has been bought and sold
I wonder who I made my pledge to

They strip all our rights to protect me it's said
But I wasn't born yesterday
Big brother tries to reign in the things that we know
And his pockets get fatter each day

I'm not a number and I'm not a name
I'm not a game to be played
I'm not a child a pawn or a dog
And I'm still American made

The house it goes empty and the debtors they call
Our best laid plans they all fail
The powers that be, they make crooks of us all
And they can't wait to put us in jail

New laws are made each and every day
And the police they stand at the door
Well I've got a message, just leave us alone
You vampires you thieves and you whores

I'm not a number and I'm not a name
I'm not a game to be played
I'm not a child a pawn or a dog
And I'm still American made

The Constitution's not there to paper your walls
To cross out the words as you please
The way a fool misinterprets the Bible
Has got nothing to do with me

Freedom of religion is the first thing we learned
And we forgot about that shit real soon
But I'll worship Christ, The Devil, or Thor
Or the shadows, the wind, and the moon

I'm not a number and I'm not a name
I'm not a game to be played
I'm not a child a pawn or a dog
And I'm still American made

I shun Democrats and Republicans too
And I won't be put in a cage
The Senators act like they're doing us right
But in the end they all vote the same way

They've pissed on the poor and they've pissed on the weak
On the Natives and on Mexico too
But one of these days, they'll pay for their sins
And I hope I'm alive when they do

Sort:  

Dam I wish I would have seen this sooner. Deff resteeming! This is exactly how I feel about America. I love my country and the people in it, but we have to take back our country from the krony capitalist that are running it. Great song dude! Thanks for sharing!

Thank you!
This was my song to say 'fuck off' to all who needed to be told to fuck off:)

nice job man I have a series that shouts out under apreciated artist

Thanks! That is awesome!

good continuation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50