Rabbi Shergill - Bulla Ki Jaana Maen Kaun (Bulleh! to me, I am not known)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

the lyrics were written by a famous Punjabi poet by the name of Baba Bulleh Shah

here is the translation of the Punajbi lyrics courtesy of here:


Bulleh! to me, I am not known


Not a believer inside the mosque, am I

Nor a pagan disciple of false rites

Not the pure amongst the impure

Neither Moses, nor the Pharaoh


Bulleh! to me, I am not known


Not in the holy Vedas, am I

Nor in opium, neither in wine

Not in the drunkard`s craze

Niether awake, nor in a sleeping daze


Bulleh! to me, I am not known


In happiness nor in sorrow, am I

Neither clean, nor a filthy mire

Not from water, nor from earth

Neither fire, nor from air, is my birth


Bulleh! to me, I am not known


Not an Arab, nor Lahori

Neither Hindi, nor Nagauri

Hindu, Turk (Muslim), nor Peshawari

Nor do I live in Nadaun


Bulleh! to me, I am not known


Secrets of religion, I have not known

From Adam and Eve, I am not born

I am not the name I assume

Not in stillness, nor on the move


Bulleh! to me, I am not known


I am the first, I am the last

None other, have I ever known

I am the wisest of them all

Bulleh! do I stand alone?


Bulleh! to me, I am not known 

Sort:  

great singer. great song. great lyrics :)

Excellent post!! thank you for sharing

Not sure how I feel about this one, I think something is lost in the translation.

that's the downside of translation. it can't capture the original thoughts and emotions. the original language barely does it, so the translation definitely will have a hard time.

Love music 😍😊😋

Very True meaning...

He is KNOWN NOW!

:D

hahaha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62067.61
ETH 2414.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57