Album Review: Eminem - Revival

in #music6 years ago (edited)

      To anyone paying attention to the music industry at large right now. Eminem dropped what's allegedly his final album, called revival, on the 15th. It came off the heels of two largely unsuccessful singles 'Walk on Water' and 'Untouchable.' The latter of which I actually derived some enjoyment out of. However once I got my hands on the album... it hurt my soul.

      Back when Em released the Marshal Mathers LP 2 he was on top of the rap game. He proved to all his naysayers that he could still rap at the level he did during the peak of his career while still making smash pop singles. Sonically and conceptually it was leaps and bounds above his past three albums, and was a callback to his artistic prime. The general consensus was that it was his strongest album since The Eminem Show, and that "Eminem was back." MMLP2 was actually one of my personal favorite Eminem projects, and I was eagerly anticipating what came next. Which brings me to Revival.

      I'm disappointed to say that Revival showcases Em once again retreating to mediocrity. The  album starts off pretty strong, with 'Walk on Water' serving as a great intro in the greater context of the album. The next two songs showcase some really great flows and good lyrics, along with surprisingly trappy instrumentals. I found myself thinking that this could be a great album unlike anything he's ever done before. It then runs into 'Untouchable' which was already released to the public. I'm not too hot on the first half of that song, I don't like the beat and the chorus is god awful. His rapping is good, but then again the subject matter comes off as very forced and postured to garner a certain reaction. When the beat switches though... it's amazing. All I'll say about that track.

      Then we get to 'River' Ft. Ed Sheeran and the whole album changes from then on. The song itself is actually pretty enjoyable. Ed Sheeran's vocals are very strong, the instrumental is perfect for that type of song, and Em comes through with some good verses for the kind of track it is. It's easily the best pop song on the project, but unfortunately it's followed by a lot of mediocre ones, and some which are downright horrible (See 'Need Me' Ft. Pink). The rest of Revival from that point on is mostly a mixture of really light pop tracks and some terrible rock and country influenced ones. Think of 'So Far' off of his last album, just minus all the catchiness, charisma, and comedic value.

      It picks back up again for a few tracks, most notably of which being 'Framed', which is easily my favorite song on the whole album. It sounds like a song off of Encore if Encore was actually good. As well as 'Like Home' with Alicia Keys which I actually feel turned out a lot better than it could have. Despite my opinions on the subject matter. You can tell that it's very genuine and passionate, on both arists' parts. In my opinion Em actually ends Revival pretty strongly too, with 'Castle' and 'Arose.' The beats work, the rapping is dope, and the subject matter is compelling. Overall though? This album....

Revival was a major let down. I don't hate it as much as everyone else seems to, but this is absolutely an artistic regression coming off the heels of The Marshal Mathers LP 2. In my honest opinion I think he should have just stopped making music after that album. It's final track 'Evil Twin' was a flawless love letter to his career, and would have been the perfect way to cement his position in the upper echelon of hip hop greats. He just couldn't walk away though... and if this truly is his last project, it's without question going to be a detriment to his legacy. Revival wasn't good, plain and simple, and as a huge Eminem fan that saddens me.

Sort:  

interesting review ....very well done !!! I am looking out for more of you

Never been a big fan of rap although I can appreciate it as art in that sense... I did see Em's performance of Walk on Water on SNL and thought it was interesting.

Always sad to see Once Great devolve into mediocrity. I feel the same way about U2, whom I absolutely was in awe of in the 80's and early 90's.

Great review! Hope you do more...

I'll usually throw up a review for most albums I listen to. A lot of it is rap though ha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68960.63
ETH 3804.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70