MUSIC HISTORY - LARRY GRAHAM - How To Play Modern FUNK Bass!

in #music7 years ago

Larry Graham INVENTED modern bass playing in many ways.

One of Prince's greatest mentors, Prince listened to Larry when almost nobody else could get through to him...

While there are greater bassists, there are no greater Funk players that influenced all who came after.
Talk to Marcus Miller, Jim Simmons, lot's of great players, they will tell you the same.

Here is a 6 minute Bass Lesson taught by Larry himself, where he goes over all the roles he was trying to cover, and how he went about covering when the drummer was absent, etc.

Right hand technique and working with the Back Beat, it's all here.
Larry Graham, the great spiritual mentor, bass player, band leader, and positive guy all around.

Sort:  

He is impressive!! Are you a bassist as well?

29936358-9ED4-4EE0-A436-2DC896139009.png

YES I AM!
I live for a great groove and some TIGHT funk bass playing.

Awesome!!! I used to play guitars at a time!! Not bass though. Reminded me of my music days !!

an art of sound in time that expresses ideas and emotions in significant forms through the elements of rhythm, melody, harmony, and color.
the tones or sounds employed, occurring in single line (melody) or multiple lines (harmony), and sounded or to be sounded by one or more voices or instruments, or both.

Larry man Larry man, that what a next level bass guitar player. He could have the strings give him whatever he wants. My junior bro is sure gonna like to hear this.

Larrrryyy. The dude can't even talk with out being funky. My main man. Oh by the way did you see his fingers. There like hooks.

I WISH I had thumbs like his...

Hahah Absolutley I agree @surfyogi

Good music

I think his work with the central station is the best.
He is the legend!

Hello @surfyogi, it's been a while. How are you doing?

He really can play the guitar. Am sure a lot of people on dmania will love it.

This is a great FUNK legend
I like it very much @surfyogi :)

Larry grahm
Read your article .good work @surfyogi
If u have spare lil time have a look at my work ☺

@surfyogi really impressed with your blog sir but it had been quite a while before you wrote your last post..... But really after seeing this and the way you expressed this article was dam great sir keep it up I take you as motivation!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79