My Brain HurtssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago

“What kinda music do you listen to?”



Screching Weasel My Brain Hurts
Image Source


Hey, before you continue, I have a question for you, Are you interested in taking out a loan to consolidate debt?


If you use my Credible Referral link, you can get a cash bonus if you take out a loan.

It can be a Personal Loan or a loan to consolidate Student Loans.

Either way, if you use my link, it can be a "win-win" for us both by saving us money and getting money now!


In about 6th or 7th grade a kid named Robert moved to town and changed my life forever.



He asked me that question and all I could piece together was something like, “I dunno, country I guess.”

I should explain.

We moved to Texas when I was just about to turn 6.

From there I never really developed my own taste in music and my dad got into country music.

Whenever I rode in the car with him, we would listen to the likes of Garth Brooks, Hank Williams Jr., George Strait, Alan Jackson, and others.

I liked to alright…

Robert had different ideas.


Today I don’t remember where Robert moved here from, but he did move in across the street from us and so we became friends.



He got me into stuff I had never even heard of, like Blink-182, Propagandhi, and Screeching Weasel to name a few.



Screching Weasel Logo
Image Source


From there I started getting into all sorts of other music outside of just country.



Eventually, I got into the side project bands and fringe bands like The Methadones and The Riverdales and The Dead Milkmen.

For a bit I really got into the ska genre, partly due to a couple of local ska bands at my high school.

Of course I was into Reel Big Fish, Less Than Jake, and The Mighty Mighty Bosstones.

But I would listen to anything with a horn section.



Ska Logo
Image Source


By now, you may be wondering, “Why bring all this crap up?”



And I don’t know, I just remembered that Screeching Weasel had a song and album titled “My Brain Hurts” and right now mine really does.

Mostly anytime I go back and listen to any of this type of music I think it sucks.

And I will probably feel the same way in ten years from now about the music I like now.


Michael


Created by Michael Paine

Follow me @strangerarray and donate because my brain hurts today.


Check Out Some of My Previous Post:



Sort:  

I've never limited myself to any particular type of music, but I can say this, I hate Led Zeppelin. If you like horns, you might try Mr. Bungle's self titled album 'Mr. Bungle'

Carousel


www.youtube.com/watch?v=UnLNXquIBVs

Thanks, I will check it out.

Congratulations @strangerarray! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Thanks! Sounds like great fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48