Fast Learner- My friend playing my ukulele after about 2 1/2 hours of practice 🎶🎼🎵steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Truth be told, he does play at least three other stringed instruments, but it was pretty amazing how fast he picked up the chords well enough to sound as if he had been playing for years. Not to mention playing the harmonica along with it and making up a song.

IMG_2069.JPG

I could either be inspired or be discouraged about my progress after a year and a half of playing it. I will choose to be inspired. It is just such a fun instrument! It's really hard to play a sad song on a ukulele and even the sad songs sound happier.

Please enjoy this little video of him playing.

He and his wife are amazing musicians! Here is their website. https://www.mishkanim.com

Thanks for stopping by!

IMG_1838.JPG

Sort:  

Wow!! That is really impressive that he picked it up so quickly! I guess it does help that he plays other instruments! Sounds like a really cool song he came up with. Thanks for sharing!

He was like a kid with a new toy. He played all afternoon. I'm sure he's going to go out and buy one now.

Lol! Nice! Always good when you can help someone find a new toy! :)

I like music.

Congratulations @stillwatersart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

We are trying to get our 5-year old son to play the ukulele. Any tips?

I use Pinterest to find songs. At first I looked for simple songs that I knew that had only two or three simple chords. I would practice those easy songs over and over until I could do it smoothly. Then I would add another chord or two and a couple of new songs. To start simply builds confidence. I wouldn't start a 5 year old out with a teacher who would want to teach scales and music theory or how to read music. That can come later after they have become hooked on playing music. YouTube is also great for learning strumming and the can play along. Look up something like easy beginner ukulele songs for kids. Good luck!

Thanks. My better half is more musically inclined and can read sheet music. I can beat on bongos...

Oohh it's been on my list to learn to play the ukulele.. can't wait! Such a fun lighthearted instrument!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61491.31
ETH 3387.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50