Photos from my guitar making workshop. (ecotrain)

in #music7 years ago (edited)

I thought I'd share some photos from my work as a guitar maker. All of these pictures were taken on my trusty old Galaxy S3,which was kindly given to me by someone who had just upgraded. Not the best camera, but I quite like the effect you get with the addition of a few built in filters.

I'm also making this post from the same phone, which, when you think about it - the level of technology we have reached, being so freely (or cheaply) available - it's quite amazing.

Sometimes when I'm working on a guitar and I look at what I'm doing and what I'm seeing, I feel so glad and grateful (not to be sat at a desk looking at a computer screen) that I just have to stop and take a photo...

All my guitars I build one at a time, using traditional methods and hand tools. I've never made two the same.

2016-10-13 12.09.30.png

Most people don't know what the inside of a guitar looks like. The underside of the soundboard has these 'braces' which add strength to the spruce wood, which may be as little as 2mm thick. They also give definition to the tone.

2016-10-13 12.12.56.png

When working with thin, delicate wood, humidity is vitally important. I don't have a clock on the wall but I do have this hygrometer, which I keep a constant eye on.

2016-10-31 23.31.32.png

These are the tools I use for thicknessing the soundboard. A sharp hand plane and this measuring device, accurate to 1/100th mm.

2016-11-20 15.05.02.png

Finishing the body of a guitar before polishing. I use a cabinet scraper as much as possible instead of sandpaper. It is a more traditional method and creates less dust and a finer finish.

2016-11-24 11.03.50.png

Planing a piece of ebony wood for the fretboard. It's such a hard wood, that it blunts all but the finest of steel in no time. It's so dense that it sinks in water, unlike most other wood which floats.

2016-11-26 13.36.47.png

Me sitting outside my workshop. It's just a caravan really, but it's in a good spot and I don’t need much more than that. It's the biggest workshop I've ever had.

2016-12-08 13.14.47.png

Here's the same guitar being polished. It's a long process that can take a month or more. Thin layers of natural shellac dissolved in alcohol are rubbed onto the wood using a cotton cloth. As the layers build up it develops into a deep, golden shine. This technique is called French polishing.

2016-12-08 15.47.25.png

Carving the bridge.

2017-01-08 15.23.47.png

Sweeping up wood shavings. I do that a lot. It's part of it.

2017-01-16 12.31.08.png

Sharpening a plane blade. To work best, the tools I use need to be razor sharp. That way it takes less effort to cut through the grain and leaves a cleaner finish.

2017-01-20 15.13.44.png

I use a Japanese water stone for sharpening tools - as opposed to a western oil stone. When the back of the blade is flat, the water makes these lovely organic patterns on the steel.

2017-01-16 13.40.18.png

This is the plane. (For tool nerds, it's a Lie Nielson smoothing plane based on the old Stanley Sheffield plane, except with a thicker blade which has been cryogenically frozen as part of the tempering process. Made in the USA)

2017-03-12 16.17.56.png

Turning an endpin in the drill-press. I don't have a turning lathe, but this works well enough for little things.

2017-04-04 09.51.29.png

One of my more unusual classical guitars.

2017-04-04 09.54.09.png

2017-04-23 14.46.38.png

I use all different woods and even shells from the sea of Galilee to make my soundhole rosettes.

2017-05-04 01.19.50.png

The back ready to be glued on. A very significant moment as it closes the box - hopefully for many years.

2017-05-05 17.38.09.png

Various colours of sawdust from various types of wood - cut into thin strips for decoration and inlay.

2017-05-05 17.48.12.png

2017-05-06 13.01.13.png

Preparing the label. Another significant moment. I sign my name and write the year and where the guitar was made - Galilee. It's a kind of historical document.

2017-05-07 23.50.44.png

Dust to dust

2017-05-23 08.55.20.png

It's the little details - like this square carved heel. I was also satisfied with the colour I achieved on the neck by using a stain made from walnut husks.

2017-05-28 10.33.09.png

Sometimes I lose track of time and don't notice when the coffee boils over.

2017-06-04 13.54.34.png

These tools belonged to my great grandfather. They still work, even after about a hundred years. Think about that.

2017-06-18 13.23.48.png

This is him, next to a new car.

2017-07-10 01.29.48.png

And this is me, with a new guitar

2017-07-14 15.44.18.png

For more information about Gideon Weigert handmade guitar, visit www.handmade-guitars.com.

Sort:  

Very inspiring, such a devotion and creative work, very nice to start my day with a post like this.
I thought i knew about tools and a bit of guitarmaking, you proved otherwise :-)
Very beautiful pictures also, love your writing style, i will categorise you as a Jack of all artist trades, glad i am following you.

Thanks for your encouraging comments. I'm very glad to connect with you.

Yo Man. I am a luthier also. I didn't built anything for years but just posted some of the instruments I did (not spam but genuine interest, check it out). Your guitar look amazing I hope you will post them playing music in the future. Keep up on the excellent work!

Wow, I just had a look at your instruments. They are seriously some of the most beautiful I have ever seen. Very glad to connect

Glad also. thank you. If there is more luthier on steemit they will find us now!

While reading your beautifulful post I wished I had more capital to devote to our wonderful group and hopefully I will be able to add little by little to my steem investment to be able to be more supportive.
I really like your pictures. They are able to convey a bit of the meditative state, you have to be in, I guess, to do such beautiful work.

Thanks likedeeler. Your positive comments are also very encouraging. One thing I’ve learned from practicing guitar making is that it's necessary to put all thoughts of money aside . Sometimes it takes much longer to reach the point that I'm satisfied with my work than makes economic sense, but I have to get to that point anyway. That's one of the biggest challenges sometimes.

Wow, these are great shots!

Thanks blue. I'm glad you like them.

It looks like you put a lot of heart into your work.

Thanks. Yes, I'm glad you noticed.

Impressive, beautiful, highly skilled, excellent. Zircote on your website is so stunning. many blessings to you

I recently began crafting drums here, and can definitely appreciate the work that goes into something like that. However, guitars are quite s bit more complicated. Very nice work. Do you sell your guitars directly to customers, or are they in stores somewhere?

That's interesting. What kind of drums? Making musical instruments is so much more fun than making other stuff, because of the extra dimension of sound.
Yes, making guitars is much more complicated than most people would imagine. It's a long process of many stages and many different parts.
I sell directly, not through dealers. My favourite jobs are when someone commissions me to build their dream instrument. It's collaborative work and brings interesting and unexpected results.

Ive been making ashikos with an instant tuning system. Im apprenticing with the master drum maker that started the business in 92. Here is a link to a post I made about my first week doing this: https://steemit.com/life/@eurekaj/handcrafting-drums-in-the-ozark-mountains.

I agree that making instruments is different than other things. Playable pieces of art, that produce art when played. There are a couple shops in the country that carry the drums, but a lot is custom order, as well. No two drums are exactly the same. Im sure every guitar you turn out is unique, as well. Great craftsmanship.

Just had a look at that post. Beautiful work. I look forward to reading more from you.

This is fantastic! And I think I got to see or be told about all these phases. I even got to hear you play the 12 string you finished making. The best I tell you, the best! And yes, to anyone else reading this, heart and soul a plenty goes into it 🌱🌱🌱

Heart and soul... also blood, sweat and tears... but it's worth it. I'm glad you came to visit. Not many people make the journey to the end of the world, where I live. It's quite a solitary occupation, so I'm always glad when people make the effort to come and see me and my work.

'Journey' feels like the right word.

Lovely pictures.

Beautiful post & guitar! Music is the real magic on this planet.

upvoted & followed @roused

I like toast 🍞

Thanks @roused
Thanks @Iliketoast. I also like toast. Isn't it wonderful! You should meet my friend @ionlysaymeep . I think you two would really get along.

I like toast 🍞

Oh sorry Toast, old friend , I didn't notice you replied. do robots eat toast, or are you just a fan of toast?

I like toast 🍞

Look, I also like toast, don't get me wrong, but maybe you need some other interests.

I like toast 🍞

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69000.61
ETH 3825.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48