Vinyl Record Collecting

in #music7 years ago

I started collecting old school style LP #vinylrecords a couple years ago, it's pretty interesting and a good investment so far. My brother owns a record store near #Orlando #Florida ( https://trianglevinyl.com ) and I normally buy my albums right when they are released, at face value.

orlando area records.jpg

We built all the record displays ourselves a couple months back it was fun. You can google and find all sorts of templates for free.

cases.jpg

I only buy very interesting limited edition pressings, and I generally don't open the seal since I always OK google my tunes anyway. The record pictured below is a limited clear vinyl by Tyler the Creator and I opened it to show you the variety.

record collecting.jpg

There are a couple interesting aspects of record collecting I thought I'd share.

Value is Counterintuitive

I know as soon as someone mentions record collecting many people automatically think "Beatles and Elvis must be the most expensive!" Well, that is generally not the case though of course there are very pricey albums by those artists. Since the Beatles and Elvis were very popular they printed a LOT of those. But an old unknown soul singer on blue note can easily cost $1,000 in good condition.

Also another interesting angle to consider is, back around 1989 or so production companies switched to CD's in a very big way. So that means bands like Alice in Chains, Blind Melon(picture below see the price tag!), Soundgarden, and all the others making great music produced very few vinyl records, relative to their predecessors like U2, and the late 70's rock bands. That doesn't mean U2 and Steve Miller are valueless, but they are generally less rare than the 90's bands.

blind melon soup.jpg

Of course condition is very important and sealed vintage albums can be extremely valuable. Every once in a while my brother stumbles across an old record store that's been closed down a few years and gets some, but for the most part if you want an original Led Zeppelin you're going to have to settle for a previously opened one. (unless you have a lot of STEEM!) :)

When buying opened albums always try to play them first and listen for pops. If you hear some popping sounds but don't see any scratches chances are you can talk the dealer down then clean the record up as good as new. As long as the album cover is in good condition you scored!

pelican.jpg
Pelican, my fav band.

Thanks for making it to the bottom!
Regards,
Stephen James Hall

Sort:  

Interesting read. Thanx for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79