Tips &Tricks for music enthusiasts. (Also offering my sound engineering services for free to steemian musicians)

in #music7 years ago
S
For those of you who don't know , I'm a music producer , and today I'm going to give you musicians and music producers some tips that have help me in my own music production. 
As well as , I'm offering my sound engineering services to any steemians for free , more on that at the end. 

                             Always have a vision for your track.

What use is a song or track if there is no vision , no story ? Not a lot in my opinion , just a bunch of sounds or instruments playing in a nonsensical order , though there is nothing wrong with jamming and experimentation. 

Before you sit in front of your DAW , or picking up your instrument , have an idea of what you want the song or track to be like . 

                                                             Ask yourself .

  • "What kind of character do I want in my song or track to have ?"
  • "What story do I want to tell" , or "What emotion do I want to show in the track or song I want to make ?"
  • "What feelings do I want people to have more or less when they listen to my song or track?"

If you have the main idea down for you track or song with a good arrangement , your golden !!

                                        The Devil in the details.

There a lot of small little techniques and tips that at the end of the day , will help improve your production as a whole . 

                                                  For example.

A lot newer of music producers will disregard this small and simple technique that will help a boat load in the long run of their music production . EQ higher frequency samples and synths , a lot of times there will be lower frequencies that you can't hear , or are so low in volume , you disregard to do any cleaning up , this is wrong.

Think of your track or song like a car that need to be packed , you want everything to fit in nicely . I'm sure you don't want to just through everything in and go , no . You only want to pack the essentials.

Taking out the low end in higher frequency sounds is very crucial to having a cleaner mix . If you don't , and have higher frequency sounds and samples playing together , these lower frequencies add up and muddy up your mix quite a lot and fast .

The photo example you see below here is the FL studio stock EQ with a low cut (high pass) on it . The amount you need to cut depends on what you feel is the right amount . Remember , music is always subjective in every sense.  Here is a video link that will explain this concept in finer detail.

                            

                                            Last but not least.

Always , always remember to have fun !!! Music is supposed to be enjoyed , if your not confident in what your making or having fun with making music , its most likely the music your trying to make will end bad. Also , if you do see yourself facing a writers block , don't stress to much about it , everyone has it from time to time .

Let me know in the comments if these were helpful and if there are any specific problems you may have , and I will give you the best advice I can . 

Sound engineering services for free to steemian musicians and producers.

Anyone that is interested in improving their mixes or song in general , this is what I can offer. 

  • Mixing and mastering.
  • Editing , to give your track that little extra something.
  • Feedback on what you can do to improve your tracks.
Also it will helps me improve my own mixing and mastering skills , ITS A WIN-WIN.

Contact me and we can talk though my email : [email protected] 

Thank you so much for checking my post ! If you have any questions , I'll be more than happy to answer any you may have . 
Please don't for get to UPVOTE and RESTEEM
FOLLOW me so that you don't miss any of my posts .


Sort:  

Personally, I try as much as possible to pass a message/share a story when I write my songs...however I bring Fun into the music, flex on the track. Great post mahn. Upvoted and Now following Oh yeah...more blessings for the free services, looking forward to that

Thank you for your support! Stefan is from SA and he has been awesome!

No doubt! Good to meet yall...now following

It's a pleasure man , I'm glad you enjoyed the post , and thank you ! much appreciated : )

Epic post Stef ! Really gives great insight bro ! :D

Thank you so much bro , I'm glad you found it useful !! XD

Thanks for supporting him and #steemgigs in the process!

Are you on steemit.chat? What is your steemit.chat username? Would like to talk on a few things related to music!

You're awesome man! Big up on the free mastering and mixing. Will send you stems sometime, also a fellow musician from South Africa here.

Keep up the good work sir!

Thank you @tonetechnician ! That's sick dude , glad to see another musician from South Africa on steemit :D

There are a few of us lurking around these parts @stefan.steynberg ;) All the best!

Sweetness on your part! Join us soon in a #steemgigs

Noted! This is fresh! Hope @tonetechnician join soon. So we can compile lists! Sharing on twitter! Hopefully we get to find steemians to take up your #steemgig

Good Article , Followed and resteemed

Thank you so much , I'm glad you enjoyed it !

Nice stuff!

Thank you so much man ! : )

n u help me make a fresh Future 808 siren esque migos big sean esque track for my Crypto Raps?

Hahaha hells yeaaa man XD !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67044.89
ETH 3251.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64