Life as a music producer and DJ !!! Part One

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Hi there everyone ! 

I'll be posting daily about this topic, in a few parts, there is allot to cover .There are many misconceptions and assumptions about the music industry and how it works (especially when it comes to the world of EDM) I wanted to take the time in the next few days to explain and answer any questions you may have regarding this topic , but feel free to ask any other types of questions that are unrelated . I will be giving my opinion and subjective thoughts as well , I hope you all enjoy .

Now lets get into the fun stuff !!! 

  1. The first thing I want to address is the word (EDM). This stands for "Electronic Dance Music" and refers to all music made with either a computer/laptop or piece of physical hardware (synthesizer) that produces a sound with the help of , you guessed it , electricity . Also from personal experience, I've heard this word can easily be misused as a way to label all the genres within EDM . EXAMPLE                                                                   So now that you understand that EDM is referring to all electronic dance music genres instead of one singular genre, we can move on to the next topic.
  2. What is the life of a music producer like ?

In short...hours and hours upon hours of this !

What you see on-top here is called a DAW (Digital Audio Work-Station ). There are many DAWs that can be used to make music . The one you just saw is FL (Fruity Loops) Studio , the DAW I use to make my music (not one of my projects though). But other than FL Studio being the most well known and the one I use, there are other DAWs such as Abelton Live, Logic Pro,Reason, Cubase etc. it verys from what the producer prefers , but all of them essentially do the same thing .

Now how all music works , weather it be EDM or live recorded music , Its put together by parts/stems and then played together in a DAW to get what we all know as a song . Its the job of a music producer to make and put together these parts in a good structure and mix these parts so that they sound pleasurable. (Pleasurably sounding music differs from who is producing the song).

There are allot of aspects of music production listeners can't even begin to comprehend, not only the technical side, but also the talent, emotion and time dedication involved . From personal experience , Ive worked on a track 200+ hours and then ended up scrapping it (very frustrating I know) where as My track Diversity ( https://soundcloud.com/africkmusic/diversity )took only 3 days (15 hours in total work time). Ive only been producing seriously for about 2 years now ,and there is still allot for me to learn . One of the many important things I'd say I have learned so far is that good things take time and hard hard work ,and that applies to all things in life, not just music production !!!  

3.  End of part one :)

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post , please resteem,upvote and follow me to get part two in your feed. Ill be talking about life as a DJ and how different it is to being a producer, then after that how it is to be both!!  I shall have the second post up tomorrow. Let me know your thoughts and insights are in the comment section . 

Sort:  

great post - I used to be a DJ during student's time, miss it, we played vinyl and then early days of CD - great times - still love to post my old Techno tracks here. Good luck on Steemit!

That's really awesome @uwelang !! I will check out your tracks ! one of my favorite genres is techno .

Thanks mate!

Good work Stefan! You can use the tag gedwriting for all your posts so I can quickly see all your posts.

FL Studio it's what I do! I have plans to make music live here on Steemit in the near future. But for now I must focus my attention on trading the Forex Beast ;)
Thx and great post. Followed, upvoted and resteemed. I look forward for more of your content...

thank you very much !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55