The sound of Hi- Fi is going Low - Fi

in #music8 years ago (edited)

Hi-fi comes from Hi fidelity,which means quality music reproduction through quality devices .When you put your favorite band record on turntable or Cd player,conected to Hi-fi amplifier and Hi-fi stereo speakers you will probably experience EARGASM.Once you have a chance to sit in front of Hi-fi music sytem,you will hear that sound is so wide, it seems like your favorite band is in the same room you are.

There were numerous equipment in 70 ies and 80 ies,brands like Nakamichi Dragon, Akai, Marantz etc.I used to have one of Akai tapes player.One of the favorite brand was Technics,everyone could afford.Not everyone,but it was a entry level for Hi-fi world.People used to go to record shops to buy vinyl records, tapes and CDies.People used to gather and listen the music at home.

Hi-fi is not cheap.Back in the days,your Hi-fi system was a most expensive part in your living room.When MP3  came in 90 ies,it was a computer music format,and experts and music lover thought MP3 will not least,because it is poor quality and compressed sound.They used the term Low-fi for MP3 sound quality.And they failed.

The friend of mine is enthusiast and  Hi-fi freak still today.He told me Hi-fi freaks are like dinosaurs.There is a Hi-fi show in Sheraton hotel every year and it is smaller and weaker each year.New generations have adapted to sound of MP3.It is much easier to listen music on smartphone and not to spend a lots of money for expensive Hi-fi music system,nobody would understand anyway.

Sort:  

Being a huge fan of music and Hi-Fi (I've spent more money on speakers than my car), I do occasionally shop for upgrades.

I have a feeling that audiophile retail people are either insane, or really full of sh*t. For example, while buying my new sub (Elac 2070), I went to the store where they had several hi-fi systems on display, one of which costed more than $30,000. Yet, none of their systems had bluetooth.

On another occasion (a different hi-fi seller) tried to convince me I need special cables and 'electricity' cleaners. They also tried selling me gold plated USB 2.0 cables, stating that they sound better (LOL). USB carries digital information, it totally doesn't matter whats it made of.

I ponied up some cash for good speakers for ~$3000, and bought cheaper second hand amp and a $50 logitech bluetooth receiver. Now I can listen to my Spotify music collection from the ipad, controlled anywhere in the room. Pretty darn convenient.

BTW, In a blind test I cannot tell the difference between FLAC (lossless) and mp3 320kbit (Spotify high-quality stream).

A few examples of extreme cases:


"I have a feeling that audiophile retail people are either insane, or really full of sh*t"
this second Japanese in video prove it LOL
"They also tried selling me gold plated USB 2.0 cables, stating that they sound better (LOL"
or gold HDMI cable...the same story
"I ponied up some cash for good speakers for ~$3000"
speakers are the most important part

Hear you next time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66139.00
ETH 3537.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16