I'm on a sick leave so I tried to pretend I'm Britney Spears and this is what happened

in #music5 years ago

...And the results aren't glamorous at all.

David Bowie had his time with "Rebel Rebel". Now I'm here to break the party with "Novel, Novel". It's just another pathetic cover of a rather badass Russian song, don't get your hopes up too high. Boohoo.


frameceline.jpg

Here's a picture of me by me trying to be high-fashion model. Ugh.

So it happened that I sustained a head injury last week, nothing serious, it still put me outta the game though, so instead of being on vacation somewhere, I'm stuck in my apartment doing things that I do when I get desperate.
You guessed it! I'm back at making shitty Synthpop (?) covers of amazing, non-English songs!

This one is quite special though – The original track is Russian, it's called "Роман", the original artist is Винтаж and it's been a serious guilty pleasure of mine for ages. So I thought "Hey, how would this sound like if Depeche Mode and Britney Spears were about to cover it?" – My vocal abilities might be comparable to Britney, but the qualities of Depeche Mode are unreachable though. Anyway, I recorded this rough and unpolished English version of "Роман" in one sitting on a depressing Saturday night... Is it finished? I'm not sure, but it's finished enough to set it out into the world.

Here are the lyrics for you to sing along with 🎤🎤🎤:

Can I ask you one question? There are so many on my mind
Why do I keep counting and why do I get lost in numbers?
You tore my heart into pieces, there are so many different shades
But now that you're not around my feelings hide somewhere else

God, tell me something
Are there bubbles in my drink?
No, don't answer me – Why the hell would you?
I keep on searching while I'm biting my lips
Well, but you're my boy – You just don't know what I know

Cause I write a novel, novel about the man of my life
I keep on walking in circles
I've spend so much time alone
So many things are on my mind and I will tell your girlfriend
I write a novel, novel
Na na na na – novel, novel
About the man of my life

Now you might think that this is stupid and it's getting on my nerves
My real religion is like fire in a bad show on TV
I'm used to being alone, I've been a cat in my past life
Be glad that no one holds you down... Well, maybe a little...

God, tell me something
Are there bubbles in my drink?
No, don't answer me – Why the hell would you?
I keep on searching while I'm biting my lips
Well, but you're my boy – You just don't know what I know

Cause I write a novel, novel about the man of my life
I keep on walking in circles
I've spend so much time alone
So many things are on my mind and I will tell your girlfriend
I write a novel, novel
Na na na na – novel, novel
You are the man of my life

Deal with this however you like – The original Russian lyrics served as a direct inspiration for this version and I kinda feel like a little stalker singing this. Now... What do you think? Let me know in the comments if I should redo this track in Russian. I feel like that would be one fun challenge.

Also, I'd like to use this post as some kind of an announcement: The next track I'm planning to release and share with you ain't a cover. So brace yourself, original music is finally coming after two years! 🙏🏻


Anyway, hope you enjoy this oh-so-amazing piece of music induced by a mild brain injury – If you think that my writing is a bit off, this is the reason. Stay cool! 🤷🏻‍♀️

– Stacy, The Cool Autotune Cat. ✨


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61166.56
ETH 2987.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71