Rock n Roll Thursday - KISS + Modest Mouse + STEEM GIVEAWAY!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago

🎸Rock n Roll gonna save your soul! Two killer tracks to remind you how good guitar, bass and drums can sound!


As usual, i'm giving away 2 Steem to the best tracks that are dropped in the comments. Full details on how to enter at the bottom of the post.


The Music

We're going back to '70s today, to listen to KISS singing about a special lady immortalized in the song Strutter. KISS were brilliant showmen; from the painted faces and ridiculous costumes to the ripping solos and howling vocals, they knew how to perform great rock n roll that really gets the crowd excited.

Something from the late '90s up next - Convenient Parking by Modest Mouse. With a taut, jolting riff and elliptical lyrics, this song somehow manages to be simple and complex at the same time. I could listen to it again and again...


For those new to this -

The format works like this. One Retro Throwback, anything from the 60s & 70s or 80s; and One Modern Masterpiece, from the 90s onwards.


The Steem Giveaway continues!

I want to hear your favourite rock tracks. To encourage sharing of great music, i'm offering 2 Steem for the best Modern Masterpiece and 2 Steem for the best Retro Throwback that are dropped in the comments.

All you have to do to enter:

  • Upvote
  • Re-Steem

I'll also be sharing the rewards from this post and upvoting comments, so even if you don't win the main prize, you can still earn a little bit just by taking part!

Winners will be announced on Wednesday 19th July - so you have all week to contribute.

Rock on!

🎸💥😱

Sort:  

Hey! I guess it's time to go for win #3.

For my retro throwback, I'm going with "Add it Up" by Violent Femmes. Hard to believe this album is 34 years old. Way ahead of its time.

For my modern masterpiece, I'm going with "Sleep in the Heat" by PUP. It's the best song you'll ever hear about a dead lizard. Plus, if you're a fan of Stranger Things, you should notice a very familiar face in this video.

Cool tracks - both new to me.

I definitely dig the sound of The Violent Femmes - gonna have to find some more of their stuff now!

love that violent femmes track, one of my all time favorites!

Great contest!
Retro - Bark:


Modern - Beck:

I never thought of Ozzy and Beck looking similar, but they could be cousins!

You are on to something - they do share an uncanny resemblance!

Nice tracks!

Hi @sroka87, great contest and thanks for the steem giveaway. you ROCK!

Here is my entries:

Retro throwback = Nazareth - Razamanaz. A great band that is so underrated.

Modern Masterpiece = Franz Ferdinand - Take me out

Franz Ferdinand reminds me of my teenage years. Many happy memories of driving around listening to them LOUD!

I want to play!

I'm going to follow your lead and look to the 70s for my classic pick aswell. I picked a track from the early heavy metal masters Rainbow

. . for my modern pick I'm going with something a little more under the radar. Giant Squid- Sixty Foot Waves. An amazing and underappreciated band from CA.

Kick out the jams mother-SROKA! Such a wild track. Detroit love!

Been on a huge Interpol kick. The guitars have a sound that is pretty unique to that wave of bands from the 2000s. Love the video as well!

Enjoy!

Two great tracks - I dig them both!

Especially like MC5 - they are the pure, unrefined essence of rock n roll!

For the Retro track, I suggest Lola by The Kinks:

For the Modern, Show Me How to Live by Audioslave

I love The Kinks - one of the best British bands of the 60s!

And Audioslave are a great heavy rock band - serious head-nodding to that one.

this is the song of me and my gf.

An all time favourite - Good Choice!

Retro ... UFO




Modern ... TOOL

Tool 🤘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94