The Cranberries

in #music7 years ago (edited)

120229810-44878b12-cf9a-4153-9009-3f3feb6297cb.jpg
I was a saddened to hear of Dolores O' Riordan's death last week. Anytime we hear about a celebrity death, we are sad, but why? It's really us internalizing what he or she gave us. Their talent, our cosmic connection to them, and how they impacted us in anyway.

The Cranberries music was at times driving, but mostly melancholy and drifting. The vocals and the guitars were both heavily saturated in reverb. That gave it a haunting, longing vibe. Dolores's voice was pure, not overly produced and was beautiful. Her harmonies along with the guitar reverb and delay gave them the Cranberries sound.

My thoughts on what makes a good artist great is their passion, their pain and their way to express that. Dolores was a tortured soul. She was a survivor of abuse and you can hear they places she goes in her mind in her music. It is an open window to her soul. Those are the B Sides, the ones that showed her soul. Here are two songs that proves that.

Put Me Down

I will Always

Her music kills me, it sometimes wrecks me. I am grateful of her, her art and her story.

RIP beautiful soul

gty_Dolores_oRiordan_cranberries_wy_141110_12x5_992.jpg

RESTEEm and Upvote PLS

Sort:  

My 14 year old singer daughter and I actually recorded a video a few years back singing one of their songs. We both really like her and I was very sad to hear she passed. I made note of it with several posts on my FB. Thanks for this article.

Thanks. She was a great artist. She will def be missed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60216.66
ETH 2326.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48