The Sound of the Soul - How To Write a Song.

in #music7 years ago

I been writing music most of my life, from the earliest ages I can remember along side my obsession with Artist like Michael Jackson, Heart, Queen, Bryan Adams and many more.   I started writing music more seriously in my highschool days and professionally sometime around 2008, when I first started releasing full original acoustic projects online as well as collaborating with various genre producers.   

Why music has been a major tool of self discovery for me?

I have always been moved by music physically and emotionally, and I learned from a young age to associate music with a specific feeling.   As I had a life growing up filled with ups and downs, and surrounded by a wide spectrum of different types of people with strong beliefs, I became so confused on the right words to say to the right people, that music seemed the only way to communicate and release pent up feelings.    Being able to express myself in so many different ways in music has helped me to embrace many different moods and personas to figure out exactly which ones connect with my true inner self.   I spent years bouncing around so many different genres and writing lyrics reflecting a wide range of ideas and thoughts.    In the now I continue to explore and be diverse with my music creation but I have been able to discover more of a pulse in myself to where the sound of my soul leads, and this journey of self discovery through music has been a blessing and incredible adventure for me.  

How do I write a song?

There are many different ways I sit down to create an original song.   The first way would be straight from a melody in my heart, and nothing but a pen and paper,  I will then either translate that with an acoustic guitar, or have a fellow musician do the same, or I might send that song off vocal only to a specific genre producer I think it might fit with and have them producer out something to create a final piece.  

Example

Original Song Beast Within written from melody in my head and translated to guitar then produced out full by German Musician @simonkraemer

Original Acoustic

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Simon Kraemer Production

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The Second way I will write a song by sitting down and playing out chords on the guitar until a certain lyrical vibe takes me.  How do these chords make me feel?  What comes to mind?  What do these sounds make me wanna say?

Example

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


Third way I write an original song is by listening to original production instrumentals from my various genre producers looking for a vocal to add to there track.    I try to pick up on the feel they are putting across or the energy, sometimes with there guidance and other times I just feel it out through the sounds themselves on which direction vocally and lyrically I want to take a track.    

Example

Colours produced by MB Sak was an instrumental he sent me looking for an original vocal hook.  The track was picked up by Perfecto Records Armada and Mix Edited by Paul Oakenfold with a Remix by Disfunction

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Forth way I write a song is in line with the last one, and thats writing to popular instrumentals of songs I love.  An example would be, im a huge fan of lana del rey music and the instrumental productions on her music is some of my favorite sound work.   I have taken several of her instrumentals off popular songs like Born to Die and Blue Jeans and written my own original vocal melodies and lyrics to them, I will then take those tracks and send them to one of my various producers and have them create something original with it, having both versions of the track up.   

Example

Lana Del Rey - Blue Jeans

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Shavon Bonnie Legion - Snowfall (Blue Jeans Instrumental)

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Original Production Snowfall produced by Qrittix

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Snowfall Remix by Russian Producer Kill Control

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


I absolutely love seeing all the directions one song can go, the different ways it can be felt and developed.   These examples are just a sliver of the genres and directions I have taken songwriting.    If you would like to explore some more of my original music please click here!

So how would I advise you to write a song??? 

 Follow your heart,  listen to your spirit, let it guide you.  Take the feelings from music you like and translate those feelings with your own words and vocal and instrumental sounds.    Trust yourself, if the passion is there you dont even need the best voice in the world to sing and get across that diamond moment feelings

Example

Janis Joplin live!!! Amazing

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Grab the Sound of Soul

write a song!

 Download some Here! :) 


Sort:  

I'm more of the 3rd and 4th...since I can't play any instrument, sadly😢. Thanks for sharing!

big ups my friend! absolutely love your talent

🙌 #bless

Love the orig acoustic of Beast Within the most Shavon!

big thanks hun!! :)

Have to listen to your other originals :)

Good job!
Follow me i will follow back :)

That's a great work, great composition, nice melody , and i like the feel of your songs..keep rock on man!!

thanks big my friend! always trying something new

Great advice and I love the peak into your soul and love of music. I also believe that has a lot to do with how someone writes. I use all 4 and it changes from time to time. Depending on how the inspiration hits. ;) Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57396.91
ETH 2446.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41