Radiohead attempts to Sue Lana Del Rey for Stealing the melody of there song "Creep"

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Lana Del Rey being sued by the band radio for the closing track "Get Free" on her new album.   I am a huge fan of Lana Del Rey, and this album is one of my favorites with great productions from Sean Ono Lennon.    Having your album produced by the spawn of John Lennon and Yoko Ono is just incredibly awesome for one thing, and Sean Ono is fantastic on this album.     "Get Free"  was a beautiful closing piece for the album and although the basic melody throughout the song is very much the same chords as the song "Creep"  it comes off to me as almost a cool throw back homage to the sound, but not so much that the songs even sound remotely alike.   The lyrics are different of course and she sings its in her very Lana way, with her own spin and the over head production on top of the melody is completely unique.     I have heard many songs where its almost to close for comfort but this in no way was like that for me.     

Comparison Video -  Lana Del Rey - GET FREE vs. RadioHead CREEP 

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>


What I find really interesting about this is that RadioHead was sued by a band from 1969 called "The Hollies" claiming "Creep" was plagiarized off of there single "The Air That I Breathe".   The thing is they lost in court and actually had to credit Albert  Hammond and Mike Hazlewood as co-writers of "Creep" and split royalties.           

The Hollies           

        


This all also reminds me of the Vanilla Ice and DJ Earthquake song  "Ice Ice Baby". It was based on the bassline of "Under Pressure" by  Queen and David Bowie, who did not initially receive songwriting credit  or royalties until after it had become a hit and it went to court.    I all fairness here the basslines are slightly different, but only by one note in the sequence.    

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

As a artist and singer songwriter this is my take on the whole thing.     WTF who cares, its not plagiarism its sampling, calm your asses down.   Sometimes it happens you got a direct copy yeah,  but in all these above cases these are completely different songs.    There are only 7 notes on this planet to work with guys!!   Sampling a sequence or melody is not plagiarism in my opinion.   If that's plagiarism on these levels then every song is plagiarism and we just don't know it or point it out cause no one gives a shit.    You do get a "Creep" feel in Lana's "Get Free" song especially after its been pointed out but, I know for myself I would consider it an honor that someone used my popular melody to create there own new song.     I mean everyone knows "Creep"  I am def not feeling when listening to "Get Free" that Lana has stolen Radioheads entire song.    She claims it wasn't even inspired by the tune and I believe her.  I write songs all the time and come across stuff later on where I think that sounds like my song or same chords, so did they steal from me or me them, if neither of us knew about each others songs.   I mean maybe they could have heard my song and been influenced or myself been subconciously influenced by there's at some point and didn't even know it.    

I love RadioHead and Thom York and after all the success they have achieved with there music along this journey of life, I cant imagine them actually trying to do this to another artist.    This has to be a label or management influencing thing.   To me its pure bullshit.    In any case for me I love them both, if I had to pick "Creep" by radio head is the ultimately better song but Lana Del Rey did not steal it for her song "Get Free"  she sampled the under line melody thats about it.   

Here is an example where I took Lana Del Reys "West Coast" Instrumental and wrote a new song over the top of it and had it reproduced by my head Sound Legion producer @qrittix.  

Lana Del Rey  West Coast Instrumental Version - Shavon Bonnie Legion Never Never Land

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

My Official Original Version - Shavon Bonnie Legion - Never Never Land

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Shavon Bonnie Legion

www.soundlegionrecords.com

Listen to my music on Musicoin Where artists get paid per play!!

Also find me @soundlegion on DSound (The Soundcloud of Steemit) 


Sort:  

It's ironic that they were actually sued over the exact same song and lost! Lol. I definitely agree with you it's a similar sounding melody that's about it. Great post and I love both versions of Never Never Land!

I believe that it is wrong for Radiohead to request 100% of the royalties they should be split and shared it sounds like Radiohead is just being greedy and trying to seize the opportunity

It is difficult for musicians today to write and record something truly original. We still love their music and embrace and crave it. However there are very few boundaries left to break. Thus much of what is already been written is variations or innuendos of the original. From classical music to atonal and twelve-tone music. From Ragtime to Fusion jazz from pop to rap. What new boundaries can be broken what new music can be written? Thus we get the melodic motif of the original in some variation.. and so we get lawsuits and music lawyers make money over copyrights. Music historians are then helpful at pointing out these discrepancies and encouraging new Bright forms of music. I remember George Harrison and Eric Carmen both went through their own lawsuits. Although it is right that the royalty should be split rather than asking hundred percent as Radiohead requested

I find it all a real grey area. If she had used the actual creep instrumental entirely that would be worthy of 50/50 but its only really the underlining chord structure, I see more claim in the Vanilla Ice situation. Its really hard to say. Its almost like in these cases you would have to break down the elements of the song and decide what percentage of the song was similar, cause after everything added by Lana and Sean the producer you might say only 20% of the song was the same as Radiohead creep, and at that rate is there a particular artist who should be getting 50/50 cuts of every song in the key of G or that uses say a G EM pattern together and so forth to infinity. I only see need for percentage splits when its directly the same as very close in the Vanilla Ice example, and its still a maybe as there is a note change. Then it makes you ask the question how many note changes need there be? what about strum pattern? I have several songs that are the same exact chords as alot of basic nirvana songs and yet they sound nothing alike. Its a thinker!!!

this is total crap #teamlana

So, I mean, in my opinion it is pretttttty damn close to being a ripoff, melodically and chordally - but the pushback is kind of ridiculous. With the amount of variation possible with only so many combinations of notes and chords, everyone is going to rip off someone at some point.

I think 40% of royalties is more than generous - not even taking into account that it wasn't done maliciously (or she says anyways, who knows). Regardless, the music industry takes these claims way too seriously.

Musicians should take care of each other, share with each other, and honor each other. I realize it's a business but it doesn't have to be so cutthroat. Her song isn't defacing or devaluing 'Creep' in any way, shape, or form. It was released in 1993 for gods' sake - for how monumental Radiohead is, I'm surprised they're sweating it. Apparently their new albums aren't doing so great. 😂

Ironicly they were really sued over precisely the same and lost. I certainly concur with you it's a comparable sounding song that is about it. Awesome post and I cherish the two renditions of Never Land

Looks like either a misunderstanding or "fake news".

According to this report from the NME Radoihead have just asked to be credited.

http://www.nme.com/blogs/nme-blogs/radiohead-v-lana-del-rey-creep-get-free-lawsuit-timeline-2216897

they must have pulled back as the tweet saying it was legit came from lana herself on her official twitter. This is good to hear. I think credit is fair enough.

Excellent Sharing and its provide us such a great entertainment @soundlegion.

amazing songs all of the songs have a great music great song thanks for sharing this amazing songs upvoted and resteemed

What a song Never Never Land! You are also working for humanity. Your classy work is really appreciated. Thanks for the post.

Thanks information and sharing. I do not know anything about this. my share helped me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58180.92
ETH 2477.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42