You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Top 22 Secrets Sabotaging Your Artistic Career *(PART 2)*

in #music6 years ago

I love this compilation of advice. I come from a different kinda artist background and all of this is useful.

I tend to lean somewhat towards inspiration>work as a similar debate in design school was, do you give focus to ideas or skill? I've always believed that good design needs to start with a good idea, but as I've grown I've realized that presentation is important too because well executed bad ideas are better received than poorly executed good ones. Ideally you need both skills and ideas to deliver good design.

After college I found myself a mainstream design job and after awhile on that grind, I left to try and make it on my own. It's been three years now since I've been doing design commissions by myself for my income. It hasn't been easy, but it's been so rewarding in more ways than just financial. This list really puts things in perspective and gives me that hope that it is indeed possible. I'm definitely going to be putting some of your suggestions to use.

Sort:  

Thanks so much @soulturtle!
Lots of great contemplations here.
Yes, it’s detkniteky about finding balance between the linear mind and the creative mind, but as you astutely assessed, many of the successful artists have just gotten really good at marketing themselves. It’s not what I’d consider ideal, but it’s a reality.
There’s a saying ”persistence trumps over talent.”
The world is littered with talented people who failed to persist, who gave up too soon, who didn’t put in the extra hours and believed they could coast along on raw talent alone.
Balance.

Kudos to you for pursuing your dream!
Blessings to you!

(Read part 1 of this article - part 3 will be up soon)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53