Songsmiths - Audition - Matt Levings from Club of Suns - Spaceman's Vertigo

in #music7 years ago

An artist who calls herself K-Jo turned in the first Songsmiths audition that really impressed me, but I don't have a video of that. I do have this one from Matt of @clubofsuns though. His was the second song I decided to produce and it's just about done.
Reading my original comments on the song (see below) I realize that I didn't follow my own advice. We never did simplify the guitar part for the plug-in-and-rock-out recording of the song. Sounds cool though. I will post the final
recording in the form of an in-studio video when it's done. Perhaps it will be the first proper Songsmiths release. I haven't decided yet. . .
Enjoy!

YouTube Description:
I love the lyrics, the voice and the guitar. Thanks Matt, see ya...no, I have to write something more...
I initially thought that, although I like the guitar part, the playing could be cleaner. But I just listened again to focus on the guitar and it's actually pretty tight. So why did I get that impression? Is the part too busy? Could it be played differently so that the subtleties shine through more? Not sure. Maybe my gut is telling me that if other instruments - especially more guitars - were added to the mix, the result would be confusion.
I think if I were to produce the track, or if the song was being played in a band, I would look at simplifying this guitar part. Either that, or any other guitars I added would be designed to emphasize this one in a very basic way. I reckon doubling this part wouldn't work too well. Perhaps we'll find out soon...

Sort:  

We thank you for your patronage!

Thanks for posting this Rob. Also, thank you for the platform to share the music, the time you've spent with us in studio and for some of the guidance you've given us so far. We love the space and enjoy working with you. We hope to see a community grow.Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 11.14.14.png

Thanks for the kind words, Matt. It's been great working with you guys. Worked a bit on Hollow last night and it's sounding awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60745.88
ETH 2640.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56