Week 01's Top 5 Hip-Hop Songs That Paint a Perfect Picture.

in #music7 years ago

As a kid, I spent most of my weekends at a local wedding hall.

I know what you're thinking..... No, my parents aren't bigamists. My dad actually DJ'd weddings every weekend as a little side hustle. My sister and I would help him set up his equipment a few hours prior to the wedding. Once we were all finished, we'd blast some toons in this massive, empty wedding hall. It was awesome.

Playing the drums since he was a kid, my dad has always been a rock junkie. Thanks to him, I grew up listening to some of the greats: Led Zeppelin, Genesis, The Police, Kiss, Pink Floyd, Van Hallen, The Rolling Stones.

I believe his passion for rock and those endless hours jamming is what made me have such an appreciation towards music.

I grew up listening to all types of genres of music though. I think the first album I actually bought was Simple Plan: No Pads, No Helmets...Just Balls. I laugh at this now but as a kid that was the shit. I listened to a lot of punk rock like any other kid growing up in the early 2000's. Greenday, Blink 182, Sum 41 Etc.

After my punk rock phase I sort of went to "screamo" or death metal. Lamb of God, Children of Bodom, Kalmah, a little Trivium. It was 2005 though once I found my love for Hip-Hop & Rap.

Eminem - When I'm Gone

This is the song that made me fall in love with story telling. At the time, I was only 9 and probably didn't really understand what the song actually meant. But, i felt the emotion and pain in his voice. I loved Eminem instantly.

Since then, I haven't stopped listening to Rap. I still listen to all types of music(I get the privilege to see the legendary Bob Dylan this Wednesday!), but, 90% of the time its hip-hop.

Let me say it once more though. I fucking love story telling. How an artist could paint a picture with words is like art to me.
Screen Shot 2017-07-03 at 4.05.32 PM.png
J Cole - Let Nas Down ("It was pictures I saw") Those 4 bars still give me shivers.

Half the time I can't personally relate to the story that is being told. But, that's ok. What I love, is seeing the world through a new and different perspective. Where you could feel the pain in each bar that is written. The confusion or thought process of one when they're facing an obstacle and then the happiness when they overcome it. Of course, the songs where you could relate to on a deeper level are something just as special. Where you feel some type of relief because someone else has gone through the same struggle.

I could go on for days. But, I think we should get to this week's top 5 Hip-Hop songs that paint a perfect picture.

5. Dave East - Keisha


Nas' prodigy and Harlem rapper Dave East is hella good. I can't wait for his next project Paranoia which is supposedly dropping soon. Anways, East is probably one of the best in the game right now. This track is about him meeting this girl named Keisha who he later links up with. He stays the night with her and wakes up to her gone, taking $15k and all his jewlery. Hahaha, ssssssssnake. East's flow on this track is on fuckin point. All the little details really make up a perfect picture. If you haven't listened to East I highly suggest listening to his latest Album - Kairi Chanel.

Memorable Bars:
Screen Shot 2017-07-03 at 6.07.38 PM.png
lmao this shit made me laugh

4. Immortal Technique - Dance With The Devil


This song is fucking dark. Another Harlem Rapper, Immortal Technique spits real lyricism in this track. He makes you enter the mind of a young kid named William, a kid with a rough childhood to say the least. With a materialism mind the kid wants to prove to everyone he's evil and will get what he wants no matter what. He joins a gang and for the initiation, he's asked to do some fucked up shit. His greed gets the best of him. Tech paints a picture so vividly that this song is incredibly hard to listen to. But, it will probably be one of the best stories you've ever heard.

Memorable Bars:
Screen Shot 2017-07-03 at 6.49.30 PM.png

3. Jedi Mind Tricks - Uncommon Valor: A Vietnam Story

This is probably one of my favorite songs of all time. I used to listen to Jedi Mind Tricks but, it's been years since I've listened to them. Every time I hear this song though I instantly stop what I'm doing and just spit along. Vinnie Paz and RA both deliver some memorable verses. It's about an American soldier's thought process while fighting in Vietnam. Listen to this song, then listen to it another 10 times....it just keeps getting better and better I promise.

Memorable Bars:
Screen Shot 2017-07-03 at 6.29.02 PM.png
As if R.A was actually there....incredible.

2. 2pac - Brenda's Got A Baby

One of my favorite Pac songs. About a girl named Brenda who's 12 years old growing up in some horrible circumstances. Brenda get's knocked up by her cousin. What she has left for a family doesn't care what she does as long as they were collecting the cheques from the baby. She decides to keep the baby but can't afford to feed it...
Screen Shot 2017-07-03 at 7.04.25 PM.png
Damn. It's impossible not to feel anything from this song.

I really think those last 7 bars were the most memorable but, I'd like to add another great one.

Memorable Bars:
Screen Shot 2017-07-03 at 7.13.19 PM.png
It is clearly sad because Brenda doesn't have any positive family members to look up to.

1. Joyner Lucas - Sorry

Massachusettss' rapper Joyner Lucas is one of the best story tellers in the game right now. This guy is going places. If you haven't heard of him listen to his new album (508)-507-2209. The number is a suicide hotline. Joyner lost his best friend to suicide and that's what this song is about. His friends thought process before he killed himself and Joyner thought process after he did it. If you ever lost a loved one to suicide or not, this song hits you hard. Real fucking hard. Probably one of the most beautiful songs I've ever heard. I'll admit it, I shed a tear to this.

Memorable Bars:
The entire track: https://genius.com/Joyner-lucas-im-sorry-lyrics

I know this was a little bit of a long post but, I had to start off week one good.

I'd love to hear some of your favorite story telling tracks(Doesn't have to be rap) or artists.
Also, if anyone has any recommendations for posts you'd like to see in the near future, I'd love to know!

Thank you for listening and stay tuned for next week's top 5,
Brandon

"Let the music diffuse all the tension" - Nas

Sort:  

Great post - very interesting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53