Fibonacci Sequence...

in #music6 years ago (edited)

So today I came up with a dope idea (at least I think so) to make music. The idea was to generate a pattern of notes within a scale using Fibonacci numbers. Since I have no knowledge of Excel, I had my uncle who's a big shot CFO and great with Excel (among other things) make a spreadsheet for me!!! like so:

spreadsheet.jpg

Now this photo is a small part of it as the sheet goes up to over 200K. As you see in the first column on the left, I have the notes of the A Harmonic Minor scale and circled all the Fibonacci numbers... the sheet goes on and I have a never-ending sequence of notes.

These are the numbers I used, up to 196418

Fibonacci.jpeg

So I generated chords the same way, played some synth bass, programmed some simple drums and turned the whole thing into a track which you'll hear in my next release.

I know there's a whole lot of similar processes for generating music. If you've ever made music that way, I'd love to listen to it/hear about it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99