You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Opeth - A Choose Your Own Adventure - Musical Tour

in #music6 years ago

I'm not sure whether its worth commenting on a 2 year old post, but there's not much on here regarding Opeth besides your post above.

I still want to see these guys live but they never seem to come in my area (Manchester, UK). They are most certainly an aquired taste and once you get past all that growling, there's some great melodies in the music.

Love Blackwater Park album, probably due to its connection to Steven WIlson, especially the title track and Bleak.

Sort:  

I saw them live once. The set they did avoided all growling vocals. That bummed me out a little bit, but it was still amazing. It turns out the venue I was at had really good sound. I will say that some of the songs live at that show sounded better than the studio version.

Face of Melinda for example.... that sent chills down my spine.

That may have been the last concert I've gone to. I don't like going out a lot these days.

How long ago was your concert? Kinda disappointing that there was no growling, maybe Mikael Åkerfeldt's voice is showing the wear and tear of years of it.

A friend of mine went to the London gig last year where Anathema were doing the support. I did'nt think to ask him if they didn't play the old stuff.

I hope this London only thing is not a sign of things to come.

They've done growling and such since that time at concerts. It was quite some time ago.

It was their tour for the album Heritage.

Out of that show Face of Melinda was the song I enjoyed the most. It sounded WAY better than the studio version.

I think the moshcam video above of The Face of Melinda is from the same concert, just not the actual instance of the concert I was at.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59200.90
ETH 2601.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41