Turkish Baglama Saz Improvisation

in #music5 years ago

Here's a little improvisation on my long neck Turkish baglama saz. This song starts out with a couple tracks of percussion on the saz created with some finger tapping on the body of the instrument. Once the percussion tracks were in place I added a couple leads and a bass track. The bass track is palm muting the strings with a pitch pedal dropping the notes down one octave. Towards the end of the song I add a couple of cigar box guitar slide tracks with some overlapping notes. Overall this is a somewhat strange sounding composition where I wanted to try something a bit different. I like to see what can be made out of just one of my instruments. Thanks for listening :-)

Sort:  

Nice improvisation :)
Baglama is one of my favorites to listen to... Takes me away...

For example the intro of this one:

This one also has a nice saz in it:

It's becoming one of my favorite instruments to listen to and play. The traditional style has a tricky way of integrating the halfnotes. I still don't know how to integrate them well in my playing. I'm too used to western scales. Probably have to keep listening to more saz music to integrate it into my subconscious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61733.68
ETH 2481.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63