Innovative Adventures - imusify: A Steemit for Musicians [Turning up the Blockchain!]

in #music6 years ago (edited)

We all know dSound, but what if I told you that I found something cooler?

You might think, whaaaat, IMPOSSIBRU, but no, I am serious. So listen up! Or, well, read up!

header.png

I am talking about imusify - a music platform which allows artists to go direct to their fans and get paid for sharing their music.

A fully decentralized music platform for generating artist income and facilitating the connection between creators and consumers. - imusify

Similar to Steemit, imusify promises that everybody can get rewarded for their contribution, not just established artists. If you are someone who can shatter windows and mirrors with your beautiful vocals that can even make the smallest dog howl, I have good news: you can also earn by being only a contributor!

What's a contributor? Well, they say you will be able to get rewarded not only for uploading but also curating content, like making playlists that others will enjoy. The more likes, the more rewards for you. That sounds really great for us people who do not have the slightest clue about notes or rhythm but do enjoy to shake our booty off-beat.

Okay, dope. What else?

You better sit down, because imusify has their own tokens, called IMU. Score!

IMU's will be used to pay for streaming and exchanging goods and services on the platform. Not sure if that means you can also sell your guitar here or just digital goods and services, but it would be cool to get paid for helping artists with their work. Think UpWork or Fiverr!

If you have not been hiding under a rock for the past two years or so, you must know about the advantages of using blockchain technologies to ensure transparency (c'mon, we are Steemians!). Imusify doesn't only use this advantage, but also automates transactions with smart contracts. Not quite sure how this goes down exactly, but the key idea is that with using imusify, you are able to have a secure, democratic, and censorship-free platform.

With smart contracts, two parties that don’t trust each other can facilitate a legal transaction based on certain specified conditions without the need of a trusted third party (i.e. lawyers, notaries, banks, record labels, etc.). (...) This means that for a service like imusify, transactions like royalty payments can go from the user directly and immediately to the artist. - Lucas Manuel

Why would I use imusify over dSound or Spotify?

I think that is the big question y'all are asking. And I do have a great answer for that.

Unlike Steemit, imusify does not decline rewards after 7 days. That means that even if I find someone's music after a month of posting, they get still rewarded for my upvote.

With the presence of a decentralized database of content and ownership rights, artists
have the opportunity to license and monetize content in exciting ways. Even small relatively
unknown artists will have a marketplace where they can sell licenses for their work to be
used in commercial videos, films, live events, and podcasts to name a few.

Besides that, they also plan on doing cool things with licenses and what not. I am pretty sure the whitepaper can explain that better than I can, though.

I mostly listen to mainstream artists like Beyonce and The Weeknd or any other artists you could've come across during my Tune Thursdays, but if you are a hardcore fan of some cool underground group you find on imusify you will also be able to support them in crowdfunding campaigns, and know that every time you play one of their songs, they actually get paid for this directly, which is pretty cool.

So, can I actually see this or what?

imusify has an absolutely stunning demo and a beta version running which are, in my opinion, definitely more handsome than dSound, so do check out the fancy stuff!

They also just launched their website and there is still a long time to go before their platform actually rolls out - but that doesn't mean it isn’t showing some cool potential, right?

I am excited about the project and think it will be a cool platform if they pull it of. Check their website and whitepaper and let me know what you think!

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

My name is Shannon, I am a digital designer and I am currently on my world trip which I am exclusively blogging about on Steemit! :D There is not a specific goal to my trip other than to have fun, discover places and unravel the secrets of Thailand, Malaysia, India, Indonesia and the USA (for now). Follow me on my adventures!

Sort:  

Hi @sjennon, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EDT or 7PM EDT in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord. If I use the post, you earn a portion of the rewards.

That's a great news there for all musicians and music lovers :) Hope to see more and more block chain based platforms to come out.

It is indeed! And yes, for sure. It makes everything a whole lot more interesting!

would this platform give an option to edit and delete content after upload? This is the ultimate failure of steemit, dtube, dsound. The workaround to this is to link to youtube, soundcloud, bandcamp etc. can you do that on this platform?

Steemit locks the content after 7 days. From what I understand is that imusify doesn't do this and you're able to edit and delete your upload. Keep in mind that it remains a blockchain though.

Alright I will recommend this to all my friends right away .
I wanted share something with you Ma'am I know you once visited my place that is Tezpur Assam but I couldn't meet you because my exams were going on.
If I get another chance I promise to not let it go ,I wanted to show you my pictures .I am a photographer from Assam ,India.
And I request you to review my work if time allows .
Below is some of my work.
IMG_20161225_134320hhvvv-01-01.jpeg

That would be great.

Ooh, looks good! Maybe next time in India :)

Looking forward to imusify, the music industry needs to be more artist-centric. The Music Streaming Revenues for artists isn't that great, to be honest.

Definitely - I couldn't agree more. I will stay tuned to their channel and shout out when there are any major updates!

Sounds cool.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57800.38
ETH 3127.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40