You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Genesis’ - The Gabriel Years

in #music5 years ago

My first approach with Gabriel was with the song "Shock the monkey", during the first years of the '80. I "met" the Genesis just a couple of years later (the Collins time ). It was the '80, I was a very young girl, I lived in a little village with no music shop and internet was just a dream, so the only way I had to know more about music was the italian radio and a tv italian music show where I could see videos from other countries. Few informations at that time, but fortunately I could appreciate the Gabriel's era with the Genesis when I met my hubby :D

Sort:  

I remember "Shock the Monkey" but it was a minor hit here so took little notice of it at the time. Many fans profess to be Gabriel ones or Collins ones, but I like both era's with little preference. It was the 'other guys' who made the music that made the difference and not just the vocalist in the case of this band.

Also here in Italy was a minor hit, but it was because during those years italian people loved italian singers more than other. I was the only one who used to listen international music between my friends (maybe because my village was very little :P ). Me and my hubby talked about Genesis just a couple of days ago. Both of us said that Gabriel and Collins was both great vocalists of the band (even if we think Gabriel was also a great performer and really a "showman"), but all the group made the difference, all that guys made the real difference!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61852.61
ETH 3084.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83