You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I AM MANDRAKE's Jupiter's Hollow Live Show - Dec 2014

in #music6 years ago

How in the world do you come up with this! This is some out of the world planning. The costumes, choreography, lighting... Must be a well known band to have something like this. Love your voice. Last time i listened to you i couldnt really point exactly where your voice would fit genre wise but i think the songs in the video really suit you. I dont want to say your voice here in the video reminds me slightly of a singer in a band i listened to in highschool, but i think you probably know which one im talking about. 😁

Sort:  

Well Jerome really deserves the credit for the ideas and visuals on the show - this was his project 100% and I really was just tagging along and helping out where I could (graphics, video, etc..). But yeah, he was really a master coordinator and fearlessly took advantage of his contacts throughout the city.

And omg tell me about it! I actually have a lot of trouble finding other people to work with because my voice is so heavy and different than your typical female voice. Ultimately I end up just doing what I do... ha!

But so far metal, some bluesy based pop, and classical have been the spots where I have had the most luck - though I don't have any recordings of me doing any classical pieces... I really should change that this year. (if you want a soloist to collaborate on a recording with....?)

..ok lets see if I can guess this band... Evanescence? I've been compared to Amy Lee quite a bit actually. She's a pretty great singer so I'm not offended! I've also gotten Alison Moyet and Annie Lennox comparisons quite a bit, which is more in line with where I try to take my solo stuff stylistically.

Sorry i couldn't make it and respond earlier. Was super busy finishing my last song.. Yeah i try not to tell singers who their voice remind me of because you never know that reaction you'd get. haha.
Its really interesting what you guys do, im just left wondering, financially, can your concerts cover the cost of such fine detailed and planned set building. If i were a musician that could fill a hall like this, that would be something on my mind constantly. Or is this mostly enthusiasts in the bend voluntarily contributing time and skill to the project?

haha no worries! I understand about the vocal comparisons - we can be such divas sometimes. ;) I'm pretty hard to offend though, lol

To answer your question - I think we did manage to do a little better than break even on both of our big concerts in terms of hard costs (subcontracted videographers, sound guy, makeup/hair kit fees, props). But it's worth noting that most of the performers weren't paid as hired performers - Jerome did some bartering and I think one of the instrumentalists was actually paid, but most of the extra performers (dancers, drag queens, etc) were performing out of the goodness of their own heart or because they were friends of his who wanted to be a part of the show. So that saved us a whole lot of rehearsal and appearance costs.

All that said, we were all expecting to lose money quite honestly... we weren't known around town at all, really, it was a lot of hustle on our parts. But we wanted to enter with a bang, so we did our best to go all out with the resources and time that we had available and fortunately managed to come out with a pretty great production value, all things considered! There's something to be said about the "if you build it, they will come" mentality...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58445.95
ETH 2616.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41