HOW NOT TO DO A MUSIC POST

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Pitch Black are a New Zealand ambient dub band that put out their first album in 1999

For my three NZ musics posts filling in for @kiwideb I've done one on The Clean - originators of the Dunedin sound, that @kiwideb was probably about to look into because I keep going on about it.

And I've also done one on Head Like a Hole who she knows all about and has heard all their albums.

But for my third and final post I wanted to do one about a band she wouldn't touch with a 10 foot pole. Because they are an electronic band, and that is like saying they are child murdering pedophiles. Except that would really be killary klinton or the pope...

While I love remembering the old days and want to imagine leaping about head banging, what I mostly listen to these days is dub. It's mellow and relaxing with a good vibe. My favourite dub artist is Lee Scratch Perry.

NZ also has had some amazing dub bands like Salmonella Dub -http://salmonelladub.com

This is my favourite Salmonella Dub song, and this awesome video was filmed on the Kaikora coast road which was destroyed in the 2016 Kaikora earthquake. (Even here in Wellington 200 kilometers away that shake was terrifying and a lot of buildings were trashed)

But rather than sticking to the more accessible sounds of Salmonella Dub, now I'll go all ambient with Pitch Black.

Here is a geek description:

Pitch Black is Paddy Free and Michael Hodgson. The Duo work in the borderlands of Electronica and Dub, where darker sounds reminiscent of Dubstep contrast with lighter and more upbeat. The rhythm is often a hypnotic four the floor pattern set adrift among propulsive delay

Its a bit ironic that I just did a post saying long videos are boring, because all Pitch Black tracks are over 8 minutes long. But I'm not really saying to watch their videos - just play the music in the background while you do other stuff.

OK this video (Flex) is great so maybe watch at least one minute of it from 4 to 5 mins because its so damn cool! (The shot of the MX bike at 4:15 is killer)

Reptile Room is one of my old favs - no vid with this one but this track is extra awesome on some good weed!

Sort:  


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Mind blowing slow motion in Flex. Music moves it along.

So you like it better than The Clean?

You know when you have those moments like hearing 808 State - Cubik for the first time?

You just get your doors blown off - I love it when that happens

I can't fucking listen to it, coz I'm at the office!
By the way, have you thought about uploading it on dsound?

No! - I don't even know what dsound is - I'm retro...

I do have one of these though!
Rega Planar Turntable

kermit-on-bike-outta-here.gif

i know something about pitch black.they are really amazing.i love all band music

Nice video,,
Thanks for sharing,,
Music may blow on mind

nice music.... thanks for sharing...

Wonderful this music, I appreciate your post.
keep it up my friend....

While I love remembering the old days and want to imagine leaping about head banging, what I mostly listen to these days is dub. It's mellow and relaxing with a good vibe. My favourite dub artist is Lee Scratch Perry.

So cool!

Have fun...
funny-dancing-girls.gif

its a great post for music lovers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66847.77
ETH 3497.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89