Stranger Things Inspiration (and even more great soundtracks)

in #music8 years ago

Like many others I recently felt in love with the "Stranger Things" series, which pushed me back to my youth in the 80's. The series from The Duffer Brothers is a highly entertaining supernatural series with lots of heart.

The Real Deal

A guy named Steelberg recently designed an VHS-Cover for the series, which brought back even more memories. He designed many more outstanding retro covers from actual movies and if you are intersted in his work, you should read this interesting interview.

Watch it

You can actually watch the series on netflix. Here is the extended version of the main-theme:

The intro sequence had been designed by Imaginary Forces/Eric Demeusy. You can check out his homepage for a deeper look.

Stranger Music

One thing that really helps making the show work is the terrific score and the original music. The show’s official Facebook has announced that the soundtrack by composers Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein will be “coming soon.”

Until then you can listen to songs that have been played in the series in this spotify playlist.

DJ Yoda Remix

I also really had fun listening to this mix by DJ Yoda on soundcloud inspired by the 'Stranger Things' soundtrack. He's mixing Totos Africa with John Carpenters theme from 'Assault on Precinct 13'. Enjoy!

Listen On!

If you still want more, you should definitely check out this soundcloud playlist with lots of great synthwave/retrowave artists and songs.

Even More great Soundtracks

Finally here are some more good series that feature great music:

Boardwalk Empire

Mad Men

Bloodline

The Americans

Top Of The Lake

What series are you into right now and wich soundtracks are catching your ears?
Let me know in the comments!

Sort:  

I binged watched the hell out of Stranger Things. I absolutely enjoyed it. I was born in 83 and the music, cinematography, and costumes brought back some serious nostalgia for my youth.

Me too, hopefully there will be more seasons coming.

I have no doubt in my mind that they will continue the series. It has been well received plus they left room for it to be continued. I mean why is Will coughing up the larvae worm like things? We need answers.

True, I thought the same while watching Wills worm. And I really have no doubt, that the series is successful enough to be continued. Hopefully they can bring the story to "the next level", though.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 8.9 and reading ease of 69%. This puts the writing level on par with Leo Tolstoy and David Foster Wallace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44