The Ultimate Late-80s Skating Playlist

in #music7 years ago

I was never able to skate backward, but I was an ace at taking the curves full speed in the skating rinks of my childhood. When I wasn't coasting around the rink floors, I tried to recreate the soothing mood of the rink at home.

I know what you're thinking. Skating rinks are loud with flashing lights, ugly carpets, that old shoe smell and unstable crowds on wheels. All of that was overpowered by the hum of wheels against the wooden floor. That was part of the magic, part of the music.

My favorite songs were mellow, love tunes. Some of them are still at the top of my playlist. They include:

"I Think We're Alone Now" by Tiffany

"Kokomo" by the Beach Boys

"Happy Birthday to You" by New Kids on the Block

"Jam on It" by Newcleus

Anything by Paula Abdul. Here's "Straight Up"

"Rhythm Nation" by Janet Jackson

"U Can't Touch This" by MC Hammer

"Ice, Ice Baby" by Vanilla Ice

And, of course, the "Chicken Dance"!

What's on your list?

Sort:  

greetings and blessings for you, here I give my support and my upvote, hoping to follow that great work on your blog, and I really hope your support, visit my blog your support is very important for me ,,, many thanks and success, ,,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64526.07
ETH 3116.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55