Why I Am Opposed to the Re-Writing of "Baby It's Cold Outside".steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music8 years ago

I've seen a video floating around over the last few days of a remake of the song "Baby It's Cold Outside" with the lyrics re-written because of the "date rape-y" nature of the lyrics. If you read the lyrics, at first glance they are kind of cringe-worthy. Upon further scrutiny, that theory might not hold up. Here are the lyrics to the original song that are in question.

I really can't stay
Baby it's cold outside
I've got to go away
Baby it's cold outside
This evening has been
Been hoping that you'd drop in
So very nice
I'll hold your hands, they're just like ice

My mother will start to worry
Beautiful, what's your hurry?
And my father will be pacing the floor
Just listen to that fireplace roar
Now really I'd better scurry
Sweetheart, what's your hurry?
Well maybe just a half a drink more
Why don't you put some records on while I pour

All the neighbors might think
But baby, it's bad out there
Say, what's in this drink?
No cabs to be had out there
Oh, I wish I knew how
Your eyes are like starlight now
To break this spell
I'll take your hat, your hair looks swell

I ought to say no, no, no, sir
Mind if I move in closer
At least I'm gonna say that I tried
What's the sense in hurting my pride?
I really can't stay
Baby don't hold out
Oh, but it's cold outside

I simply must go
Baby, it's cold outside
The answer is no
But baby, it's cold out there
Oh, this welcome has been
So lucky that you dropped in
So nice and warm
Look out that window at that storm

My sister will be suspicious
Gosh, your lips look delicious
And my brother will be there at the door
Waves upon a tropical shore
Oh, my maiden aunt's mind is vicious
Ooo, baby you're so delicious
Well maybe just one little kiss more
Never such a blizzard before

Oh, I've got to go home
You'll freeze to the bone out there
Say, lend me a comb
It's up to your knees out there
You've really been grand
I thrill when you touch my hand
But don't you see?
How can you do this thing to me?

Oh, there's bound to be talk tomorrow
Making my lifelong sorrow
Well at least there will be plenty implied
If you caught pneumonia and died
But I really can't stay
Get over that old out
Baby it's cold outside

Ooo ooo ooo
Hey, I gotta get out of here
Come on, baby
Come on what?
Just give me five minutes more
You sure know how to wear a girl down, don't you?
Okay, okay, okay, okay

The song was written back in the 1940s. A time when social expectations were different. We do not know for certain that the lyrics are meant in the way that we would interpret them today. The reality is that the song is most likely about an unmarried couple playing a flirtatious game and trying to get around the moral standards of the time which made pre-marital sex a definite no-no.

We simply cannot take words from a song that was written 70 years ago and take it to mean the same thing as if it were written today. The language was different back then, the social and moral code was different back then, and we simply cannot take from those lyrics what we THINK was meant.

Here is the video with the re-written lyrics.

The other problem is, are we going to start re-writing words to other songs, books, poetry, movie scenes, etc because they make us uncomfortable? The same people that are up in arms about taking books out of school libraries because of the use of certain words are all for changing the lyrics to songs that have been around for 70 years.

If you have a problem with the lyrics of the song, don't listen to it. Re-writing the lyrics means you are changing the essence of the song, no matter what you might think of the words. You're one step away from banning books.

Images from Pixabay.com
Video from Youtube.com
Lyrics from Google Play Music - Written by Frank Wildhorn, Frank N. Wildhorn • Copyright © Warner/Chappell Music, Inc

--

If you've enjoyed my posts, please upvote and follow me. I would appreciate it!

Sort:  

Historical revisionism and political correctness turn my stomach.

This kind of whitewashing is crazy. What will they do about country music - a lot of it focuses on the dark aspects of life in order to draw attention to them. This kind of stuff is just ridiculous.

I'm with you. You can't start changing the lyrics to songs, or the words in a book because you think they are unsavoury. It's madness.

I have to agree. Too many people want to take the authority upon themselves to change works of art from the past to conform to today's standards (which may change tomorrow).

If the works of the past offend us, then it is incumbent upon ourselves to produce ORIGINAL works that reflect today's values, in the hopes of filling up the space with what we see as a positive. Mangling the past does not accomplish that.

Ugh. The so called rewritten lyrics are so bad.... really bad. Really, really bad.

Totally agree. Terrible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59317.93
ETH 2530.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47