Soundtrack of my life 26

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Friday left me fumbling with the blues, but it is already Saturday, so it's time to get ready for the Hearth of Saturday Night!

Heard Tom Waits on the radio at a young age, probably on the same blues radio show, where most of my influences come from. Funny, I imagined him exactly what he would turn out to be, just a guy sitting at a grand piano in a smoke filled room, maybe a bottle of Jack resting on the piano. There was no internet around, at the time, so I couldn't confirm this. Misteriously, I enjoyed his "ruined" voice at that time. I used quotation marks there, because I don't want to offend any of Tom's die hard fans. I mean, his unique (ruined) voice. Well at the time I didn't knew he had other voice, that came ten years later, when I found this album on a supermarket shelf.
That was him playing the guitar, I kinda prefer him on the piano, just like I prefer this voice, to the one he has now. With plenty of exceptions, like this brilliant song
I just don't like his "Halloween songs" (his term), the lyrics don't interest me much(and the voice lol), so I'm just sharing some of the good stuff I enjoy from Tom Waits 😂 👍 He's a great poet in my humble opinion, I don't think most people will disagree with that, and a tremendous piano player.

He has plenty of material to choose from, for all kind of tastes, like a narrow mind, like mine, has just proven.
If you enjoyed this songs here his discography according to Wikipedia:

1973: Closing Time , tremendous debut album (good clean voice)
1974–1975: The Heart of Saturday Night , my favourite (good clean voice)😂
1975–1976: Small Change (a "SMALL" change in the voice)
1977: Foreign Affairs touring
1978–1979: Blue Valentine
1980–1982: Heartattack and Vine
1985: Rain Dogs
1987: Big Time
1999: Get Behind the Mule
2004: Real Gone
2006: The Orphans
2008: Glitter and Doom

I know I pasted too many songs already, but let's finish with this one. It's really well written, you can see him driving, you can watch the road, the rain, etc..quite an experience! 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66