[Single Guy Music] The xx

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Okay guys, I'm gonna start blogging about my taste in music (hence the segment title) IMHO, because I love music in general. Have always been a fan of pop, electronic and rap, and then I discovered indie music years ago and fell in love with them.
So this week, I'm gonna talk about the xx (also because their concert in Malaysia just happened last week).

IMG_1338.JPG
Photo taken by me

If you ask me about my favorite band / singer, my list would be too long to write them all down here (jk). But seriously though, the amount of great indie talents is unbelievable, and The xx are one of my favourites.


"Angels" by The xx on YouTube

I've been their fan since the "Crystalised" and "VCR" era, and "Angels" got me converted into a devout fan, so when I heard they were touring Asia and coming to Malaysia for their latest album "I See You", I was cool about it (jk, i nearly lost my mind *fanboy scream).


"Fiction" by The xx on YouTube

The xx I See You concert in Malaysia was held in MiTEC (near publika), and was opened by local band Pastel Lite an indie experimental duo based in KL, here's a piece from them:


"Damsel" by Pastel Lite on YouTube
They're actually quite good, damn local talents are getting better and better!

Anyways, back to the concert:

6FF5A759-A9C9-4DA5-B968-635CC95898F9.JPG
Photo taken by me

The concert was epic, nothing lesser than expected, only more. Their voices are amazing sang live.

Something about their music, it's subtle yet moving. When you hear them at first, they sound nothing more than just soothing music that are easy to the ear, but when you start listening to them, you can actually feel different kinds of emotions in their songs, from the music and the lyrics, poetically written and performed to portray young love, to celebrate lovers and to embrace loneliness.

3B9CAF00-4E09-40A5-9F9C-DFDEB2FCD33A.JPG
Photo taken by me

Conclusively, I'm loving their new album and that's a lot coming from me. It's rare for me to like all of the song from the same album, happens to me only 2-3 times/album in my whole life.
So hands down, I See You is one of my all time favorite album.

Here are some of the songs that are from the album:


"On Hold" by the xx on YouTube

Amazing song about how growing out of love feels like when the other is not ready to fall out of it just yet.


"I Dare You" by The xx on YouTube

You can really feel the emotions of falling in love and the moments of cowardice when falling into one. And can we just appreciate how beautiful this video is shot, the cinematography, and the colour, oh the colours melted my heart.

Okay I'll leave the rest for you peeps to explore if you're interested.

If you have Spotify, here's the link to "I See You" Album:
https://open.spotify.com/album/7jrxBbSIpwZnOd7kuAYFHG?si=g3NJ3zR3SYuB_up-aODpqw



Image source on GIPHY

Peace!

Sort:  

welcome to Steemit! personally haven’t been following the indie scene so thanks for introducing xx and Pastel Lite. listening to “On Hold” again as I’m commenting. my favourite among the bunch. maybe it’s slightly pop-ish? :p the lyrics are pretty cool as well :)

Banner Steem-Music (500x200).jpg

Hey, glad you liked them! Yeah "On Hold" is one of the popular ones, and it will grow on you even more like the rest if you keep listening to them hahaha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44