Masterful Playlists #1 - A Collection of Soul Music to Get You Through The WeeksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Today I'm starting my own blog series where I will be posting 5 diverse tracks each week.

Let's kick this off with some soul!


Jacob Banks - Chainsmoking

A relatively new song, Chainsmoking will fill you with more soul than you can handle.

If you've never heard of Jacob Banks, he's a British artist who first got notice through BBC 1 Radio as the first unsigned artist to appear on BBC 1 Radio Lounge.


Charles Bradley - The World (Is Going Up In Flames)

6 years old now, The World (Is Going Up In Flames) is one of my all-time favourite tracks, a truly soulful classic.

Charles Bradley is an American funk/soul act signed to Daptone Records. Frequently sampled by hip hop artists like Jay-Z, Charles last album "Changes" has been a success, with tracks such as the one above being featured in long-running television shows like Suits.


Kendrick Lamar - I

Another one of my favourites, I is one of those hip hop tracks that spews soul forth, the perfect track for picking your mood up.

Kendrick Lamar is an award-winning hip hop artist, holding seven grammys and is considered one of the most influential people in today's music industry. If you don't know of Kendrick then you're living under a rock.


Peter Bjorn and John - Second Chance

Another switch up, Second Chance is an indie pop song from one of my favourite groups, Peter Bjorn and John, who always shed a bit of their own soul in each track.

Peter Bjorn and John are a Swedish pop band who've been around since the late nineties and are best known for their song, Young Folks, which hit the 2006 top 20 music charts in the UK.


Leon Bridges - Coming Home

To balance out the mood again, Coming Home is another love ballet coming straight from the heart, which sounds so sweet in a live session.

Leon Bridges is an American soul & gospel singer most attributed for his debut album Coming Home, which features the track above. His most recent hit track, River, showcases his sweet voice and lyrical genius.


Bonus Track

For those of you who love music just as much as me, have scrolled through the entire playlist above, and still want more, this one's for you!

Stan Walker - Take It Easy

Probably my favourite song to blast on a Sunday and sing as loud as humanly possible, Take It Easy embodies that kiwi spirit!

Stan Walker is a New Zealand/Australian artist who won Australian idol in 2009. Stan has some of the richest vibrato in the entire music industry!


I hope you've enjoyed this short catalogue, and hopefully discovered some new music in the process. I look forward to posting a new playlist each week!

If you have any suggestions for next week's theme, or any questions, don't hesitate to comment below, . Your comments fuel me!


Thomas Te Aroha Kohi

Steemit Blogger

Born in New Zealand, now residing in Australia, I write about many different subjects and like to philosophize about each subject. I'm addicted to knowledge & growth. Be original & true in everything you do!

Steemit | Facebook | Instagram

Sort:  

Hello! I hope some of this music will reach the #steemradio-soul if you want to help the music community!!! Read more about @steemradio and our music tags here! Thank you!

How exactly does @steemradio work? Is there a website or something?

I follow you and you can me.
This is awesome

Hi there @jelazile

I'd love to follow you but your account is still very new. There's not much in your blog except for click site suggestions. May I suggest that you post more about yourself, or something other than money making sites. I'm sure you have a lot to share with the world!

I look forward to following you in the future :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29